A Phoenix Burning

White

Scott’s Challenge brought back memories of my overwhelmed college days.  You remember what those were like, don’t you?  If you were like me, every once in awhile you handed something in just to say you did it.  You knew the quality was lacking but simply did not have the time to see to it differently.  This is one of those assignments for me.  Much as I wanted to submit something spectacular, I just couldn’t get my Mojo.  So I settled for photographing mundane items around my home, trying to look at them from a different perspective.  Here’s my feeble attempt at “White.”

14 responses

  1. The first two images look so warm. I like the way white can reflect other colors in its surroundings. All of your photos show extraordinary views of the ordinary. Not feeble at all. Very nice.

    February 2, 2010 at 2:37 am

  2. A wonderful creativity in observing your environment and a great quality in your pictures ! Bravo 🙂

    February 2, 2010 at 3:14 am

  3. karma

    I’m not sure what picture number two exactly is, but I think it is a very cool perspective. I like those shots that make us think about what we are looking at.

    February 2, 2010 at 9:19 am

  4. Repeat after me: Perfectionism self-defeating, Playfulness self-affirming. Perfectionism self-defeating . . .

    Congratulations on getting it done. And I like the lattice a lot.

    February 2, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    • Aren’t you a Darling Gerry?! Thanks…I will repeat as necessary. 🙂
      I am simply frustrated with being housebound I suppose—sick kids and weather have had us locked in too much lately. My dreams of vast sweeping white landscapes went down the tubes, so I had to settle for laundry baskets and such. Ugh. Frustrating. Cannot wait for spring! Might have to splurge on some flowers this week in order to bring something beautiful inside. 🙂
      And my camera isn’t behaving lately either…starting to wonder if it’s my skills or the camera? Tending to think it’s the camera since my skills seemed fine before. I can’t seem to get anything as sharp as it should be. Anyone out there have that problem before and have advice??? Or am I just ready to graduate to a better camera? (Don’t tell Zan I said that!!!! It’ll be our secret.) lol

      February 3, 2010 at 7:21 am

  5. Your pictures this time sucked. I expect more from you.

    February 3, 2010 at 10:48 am

  6. I was only kidding. Let me know what camera you want and we can talk about getting it very soon.

    February 3, 2010 at 10:54 am

    • Now aren’t you the best husband on the planet??!!!
      Thank you, but we’ve got big plans…no room for a new camera right now. 😉 Don’t worry…I can wait. XO

      February 3, 2010 at 1:07 pm

  7. Gee, not bad for a point and shooter, KD. 😉 By meeting the assignment, you created art from your daily life. Not bad at all.

    BTW, if Zan is listening, D300s…you are more than ready for a PRO camera body. If you have a local camera shop near you, you might want them to look at your lenses. Lenses can become loose and might need a repair. Also, your camera might need a tune up at Nikon.

    February 4, 2010 at 8:47 am

    • Oooooo Scott…..leading me down the path of temptation!!!!! 😉 I drool at the thought of even t-o-u-c-h-i-n-g a D300, let alone owning one.

      I just may bring it over to our local camera shop and have them take a look. Thanks for the advice Scott. I know my 18-55mm is loose for sure….after my little *ahem* accident with it, it wasn’t quite the same. Not sure with the 55-200mm though, but it’s worth having it looked at.

      February 4, 2010 at 7:57 pm

  8. Pingback: Assignment 5: Recap « Views Infinitum

  9. Feeble attempt?? My dear, I think not! Why are we our toughest critics? Relax, take a deep breath and accept the creative genius that you are! 🙂

    February 10, 2010 at 10:45 pm

  10. Nye

    I really like the first photo, nice contrast and colors.

    February 11, 2010 at 1:08 am

  11. I think your mojo found you on this one. Thanks for sharing.

    February 11, 2010 at 5:26 pm

Leave a Reply

