A Phoenix Burning

Happy New Year!

Some years are defined by big events—the happy ones:  births, marriages, big vacations, new homes….and the ones that are hard to bear:  illnesses, accidents, deaths.  So many of you will look back on 2009 as a period of great struggle.  A few of you will define 2009 as a year of little joys.

I’m not sure how to categorize my 2009.  There were no new little people brought to being in my family (unless my sister has Baby Niece before Midnight tonight.)  There were no vacations.  There were no house projects.  Thank the good Lord there were no illnesses or losses.  It seems 2009 will be remembered as a quiet year, and I am grateful for the quiet.  Little lessons were learned, quality time was spent in simple ways, jobs were maintained, family was preserved.  All in all, a successful and happy year in the Zanduba Family.

Goals for 2010?  I have a few, but none so earth-shattering as to be worthy of note here.  I will simply hope and pray for “enough.”  Enough patience, enough strength, enough support, and enough joy to endure whatever comes my way in 2010.  Oh, yeah….and that lottery win.  That would be nice.

Happy New Year my friends!  May 2010 be a blessed one for you and your families!

One response

  1. Happy New Year to you and yours Kanniduba.
    My wishes for lots of joy for you in the future.

    January 6, 2010 at 6:20 am

Leave a Reply

