A Phoenix Burning

A Visit from St. Nicholas

Wrapping Party 2009 for the Frank Iovieno Caring for Children Foundation was a huge success!  (Check out the new web design!)  When all is said and done, over 230 children will have a merrier Christmas thanks to the efforts and generosity of hundreds of sponsors and volunteers.  Big Girl and I drove to Boston to attend the event, my first ever Wrapping Party, and came home with swollen hearts and many new friends.  It was a fabulous way to spend my 40th birthday, focusing this milestone date on the calendar in sharp perspective.

People seemed shocked that, not only was I not at home in my bathrobe  locked in my bedroom with a bottle of wine and box of tissues, but that I was genuinely happy to face my “big day” with a smile on my face.  I keep wondering if I should be more depressed since that is what everyone seems to expect from me, but I can’t quite bring myself to wallow.  I have been blessed with 40 glorious years on this planet, and have everything worth wishing for….what is there to be sad about?  I do have to stop that little voice in my head that wants to mark it as a halfway point…but I guess  it’s all about perspective.  Why waste my precious time lamenting the passing of another year, when I can be celebrating the fact that I have had another year worth celebrating?

And although I was too busy to give my camera a good workout, I did take one photograph worth sharing.

Isn’t he wonderful?!  🙂

8 responses

  1. Such kind eyes…perfect Santa!

    December 14, 2009 at 12:36 am

  2. Isn’t he a right jolly old elf. 🙂

    December 14, 2009 at 8:10 am

  3. 40? I didn’t think it was a big deal. Neither was 50. As to the photo, he is a good looking chap.

    December 14, 2009 at 1:06 pm

  4. Happybirthdaytoyouhappybirthdaytoyouhappybirthdayhappybirthdayhappybirthdaytoyou!

    Every day is a blessing, even the sh*tty ones.

    Love your Santa! I want him.

    December 15, 2009 at 10:09 am

    • Hi Lisa, and welcome to Half Hour!!! 🙂 I like you. Be sure to come back!

      December 15, 2009 at 1:05 pm

  5. MGF

    Wow, that is wonderful.

    December 19, 2009 at 6:28 pm

  6. He is wonderful, and so are you. Happy belated birthday. Or belated happy birthday. Or . . .

    December 28, 2009 at 9:46 am

    • Thank you Gerry! Now I’m all verklempt. 🙂

      December 29, 2009 at 6:44 am

Leave a Reply

