A Phoenix Burning

Wear the Pants!

Apparently this ad campaign is causing a whole lotta uproar.

I say thank GOD someone has finally grown the balls to say what many of us have been thinking.  And I’m not talking about the salads and lattes part…I’m talking about the chivalry part. 

I speak for myself….I am a strong-willed, strong-minded, independent woman who LOVES having doors opened for me…who loves having my driveway cleared, who appreciates the young man at the grocery store who calls me M’am and offers to walk me to my car when my load is too big….who appreciates a man who bends down and picks up my keys off the ground when I drop them.  I LIKE men….I like STRONG men.  I love my gay men friends who still act chivalrous toward women as a man should.  I’m all for equality in a marriage, the workplace, the family….I’m all for my daughters being strong and independent and not NEEDING a man to open a door for them, but I sure hope they find one who does.  As I raise my son, I find myself saying to him, “You may be the youngest, but someday you’ll be the strongest and it’s going to be your job to look out for your sisters.”  Sometimes I wonder if that is a burden I should impose on him, and then I think, “Damn straight I should be!”  I’m raising a man and I want him to be worthy of that title….to claim his rightful place in this world as protector and provider.  Why do these adjectives equate to “bully” and “brutality” in some people’s minds?  Why do women feel their equality is threatened if a man steps up to the plate and treats them chivalrously?

And by the way…real men CAN drink lattes and eat salads……but they don’t lift their pinky fingers to do it. 

Wear the Pants.

5 responses

  1. For me, it is an ingrained thing: politeness makes the company of society tolerable. No one ever regrets politeness and only cads forget it. It has absolutely nothing to do with chauvinism.

    However, I prefer espresso to Latte but I love salads.

    December 9, 2009 at 7:19 am

  2. YES!! Burstmode, I absolutely agree. And it goes both ways.
    Our poor men have been getting mixed messages….hold the door for a woman and you are insinuating that you think women are weaklings. Buy dinner for a woman and you are insinuating that the woman is incapable of being independent. Crazy. I say hold the door, buy the dinner! Do the right thing. Be a man. 🙂

    Love that word “cads” by the way…. LOL

    December 9, 2009 at 7:37 am

  3. Awesome. About Effing time.

    December 9, 2009 at 7:56 pm

  4. karma

    I agree whole-heartedly with your post, KD, and I think that ad may even be implying a bit more than chivalry shouldn’t be dead. There are many men out there who don’t take responsibility for the most important thing in the world they’ve done – being a father to their children. Even if you are the strongest female role model, I believe families are stronger with a good man involved in that family’s life.

    December 11, 2009 at 2:58 pm

  5. Amen and ditto to the other posts.

    Courtesy is free and 2 or more of you win. Seems like a good thing to me. Chivalry is more elusive, but what an awesome gift to give your boy children. Raise them to be knights on white horses, at least a little bit.

    I don’t have kids, but am working on the nephews.

    December 15, 2009 at 10:14 am

Leave a Reply

