A Phoenix Burning

Thanks Giving…

Some days I feel a bit sorry for myself and my lack of alone time. 

Some days I think:

“Could I PLEASE just get through ONE cup of coffee without an interruption?!”

“Could I PLEASE just get through ONE five minute shower without a little peeker or flusher?!”

“Could I PLEASE just make a bed without Mister interrupting me with some Danger Boy move like touching an outlet, putting something down the toilet, or practicing jumping near the top of the stairs?!”

“Could someone PLEASE put their own socks in the laundry just this ONCE without being asked to do it?!”

“Could I PLEASE sleep past 5:30am just this ONCE?!”

“Could I PLEASE have just ONE peaceful half hour with no obligations!!”

And then I pass the huge funeral procession for a 15 year old girl complete with camera crews…she and the 17 year old boy who was driving, died in a car accident last Wednesday.

And I think, those mothers will never have a peaceful moment again.

My thoughts shift…

I thank God for my half drunk cup of coffee because it means my kids are here to interrupt me.

I thank God for my hot and cold shower blasts, because it means my Baby Boy is in the room with me.

I thank God that my Danger Boy is still small enough to protect from himself and his choices.

I thank God for every piece of laundry left on the floor because it means that my daughters were  both here to wear them and drop them.

I thank God for my 5:30am daily wake up call because it means that someone needs me, and I get to hug and kiss each of my children good morning.

I thank God for my busy, full life and find peace in the crazy moments because I know destruction of that peace could be one moment away.

“Thank you, Father, for having created us and given us to each other in the human family. Thank you for being with us in all our joys and sorrows, for your comfort in our sadness, your companionship in our loneliness. Thank you for yesterday, today, tomorrow and for the whole of our lives. Thank you for friends, for health and for grace. May we live this and every day conscious of all that has been given to us.”

To this I say AMEN.

9 responses

  1. Roni

    Great post.. and you changed a little corner of someone’s heart today without even realizing it.

    November 19, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    • Welcome Roni, and thank you….your words brought a big ol’ lump to my throat.

      November 19, 2009 at 7:54 pm

  2. Cindy

    Thank you for writing this. It sure is an eye opener! I feel the same way as you at times and your writing sure will make me appreciate my 2 kids and husband more!

    November 19, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    • Welcome Cindy! (I love seeing new people over here!)
      Thank you for your kind words.
      I think we all need a perspective shift now and then. Choosing to see the lesson that is laid before you isn’t always easy, but so valuable. This lesson hit me full in the face and I’m grateful.

      November 19, 2009 at 7:56 pm

  3. Wow…. powerful post…brings tears to my eyes.

    November 19, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    • Aw, thank you Stacey. I love it when you visit. 🙂

      November 19, 2009 at 7:57 pm

  4. karma

    Nice turn of perspective. For all those times I get upset that my husband is snoring, I try to be thankful that he is there beside me. For all those times I get tired of being “taxi cab” for my daughters, I am thankful I have them to take places.

    November 20, 2009 at 2:49 pm

  5. I think these are words from your heart and that is where they touch other people too. I do not know you at all, yet I think I know exactly how you feel.
    I came across this post through the November assignment on Views infinitum.

    November 21, 2009 at 1:07 pm

  6. Zandic

    I am thankful every day. The little one woke me up because she had a headache. I was glad to miss the sleep because it was for her.

    November 30, 2009 at 9:16 pm

Leave a Reply

