A Phoenix Burning

You Knew I Couldn’t Leave it Alone…

So, thanks to Scott for mentioning “flash.”  *DUH*DUH*DUH*!!!  No, I didn’t try using a flash when I was doing my water droplet photos the other day.   I’m glad I didn’t think of it because the results were therapeutic.  BUT I feel like a doofizoid (yes I just made that up) for not even thinking of flash.  As I mentioned to Scott, I don’t like my results with flash so never use it.  I nearly always rely on natural light.  I guess it’s time I learn how to use a flash effectively!

So here are today’s results.  Not only did I use flash, but I backed up the camera a bit, and put a colorful background underneath the bowl.   Several trials, several duds, but a few keepers in the batch.  Much more fun this time too.  🙂

And this one I messed with and inverted just for the heck of it.

Kinda cool, eh?

11 responses

  1. Okay…now, can you increase the depth of field? That would help with that out of focus water drop in the second one. I do like the patriotic colors, too.

    October 23, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    • I’ll try that next time…Seriously, this could turn into an addiction. I’ll be known as “The Crazy Water Drop Lady” across the internets. 😉

      October 23, 2009 at 8:33 pm

  2. Nye

    This looks like fun. Lol.

    October 23, 2009 at 8:01 pm

  3. Okay you are seriously ticking me off with these. I am so jealous at your mad macro skills!

    October 23, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    • ‘Bout time I got off my lazy arse and picked up my camera, eh? Love you too! *mwah* 😉

      October 23, 2009 at 8:34 pm

      • Dangit! Could’ve used my upside down drop for your challenge! *grrr* Okay, now I’ve got to go and get creative.

        October 23, 2009 at 8:35 pm

  4. Z

    i like the inverted shot. early winter,i’d say.

    October 24, 2009 at 7:16 am

  5. karma

    You are tempting me to give these a try now, KD, just like you did after those funky vegetable oil and water shots! Time to get out the macro lens and my Dunkin Donuts cup flash diffuser!

    October 24, 2009 at 8:19 am

    • Have fun! Make sure you share! 🙂

      October 24, 2009 at 11:48 am

  6. What fun! I think I’ll go play. Water doesn’t belong to kids alone, does it? I didn’t take Scott’s challenge, but I should have. Your success motivates me.

    October 25, 2009 at 8:38 pm

  7. Wow! Thats good. The first one is beautiful. Just like a sea anemone.

    October 26, 2009 at 7:11 am

Leave a Reply

