A Phoenix Burning

Two New Challenges

Our friends (Shrew over at Shrew’s Daily Shutters, and Scott over at Views Infinitum) have both offered up new Photography Challenges this month.  Head on over to their sites for full details.  The subject of Shrew’s is “Perspective” and the subject of Scott’s is “Water.”

These got me thinking of past photos that could meet the requirements of the challenges.  Since I won’t use oldies in new challenges (I want to “challenge” myself to find new shots) I thought I’d share some here. 

Okay, I lie….kind of.  That’s not the whole story.  I actually was going to have a big ol’ house cleaning deletion fest in my Flickr photostream.  But as I hovered my mouse over the first photo I was going to delete, I couldn’t bring myself to click.  The photo is nothing special…in fact I never really liked it.  But instead of deleting it, I found myself Picnicking it instead and this is what turned up.

I realized while contemplating the wipeout of half of my photos, that each photo has a reason for being there.  Whether it be an emotional attachment to the subject, an aid to memory, a historical representation of skills learned, or for even the very basic reason that I used it here on the blog so deleting it would leave those annoying little “x” boxes on several posts, each photo has a purpose. 

What I did do, was notice  that I photograph water…a lot.  And that I’ve tried to use different perspectives (if you want to interpret the challenge that way) a little.  So that’s the real story. 

Now, Perspective.

And now for some water…

(Just for you Scott.) 🙂

And Scott, I like your photo so much more than mine because of the foreground (rocks under the water.)

So, may The Force be with you, as you go out in search of photo inspiration.  Thanks to our friends for getting these challenges going again.  I needed a little push.

5 responses

  1. Deva

    I think all these photos are great! If I am going to pick one favorite it would be the one with the iced tree, but then again, maybe not… sigh 🙂 They’re all amazing!

    October 19, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    • Thank you Deva! 🙂
      Hope you don’t mind, but I added you in on my Blogroll. You have some beautiful stuff over there! 🙂

      October 19, 2009 at 3:25 pm

  2. KD, these are two lovely collections! I particularly like the icicle and the strawberries – they look professional!

    October 19, 2009 at 6:51 pm

  3. Thanks for helping out, KD, and for bringing a little magic with you. I don’t know, I like your Lake George one. You got a blue on blue thing going there. Should be interesting to see what you come up with.

    October 20, 2009 at 7:47 am

  4. I am very partial to the last 6, especially the strawberries, the 2 ice photo’s and was that a sunset? I love the pink! Thank you for dropping by my site and leaving a comment, it is always so nice to be able to reciprocate a visit and perhaps find new sites for inspiration. I look forward to visiting again and seeing your other work.

    October 20, 2009 at 7:00 pm

Leave a Reply

