A Phoenix Burning

Teaser…

Coming in September…a new challenge.

“Most of life is routine – dull and grubby, but routine is the momentum that keeps a man going. If you wait for inspiration you’ll be standing on the corner after the parade is a mile down the street.” -Ben Nicholas

“We should be taught not to wait for inspiration to start a thing. Action always generates inspiration. Inspiration seldom generates action.” -Frank Tibolt

“Just as appetite comes by eating, so work brings inspiration, if inspiration is not discernible at the beginning.” -Igor Stravinsky

“You can’t wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club.” -Jack London

“Technique is what you fall back on when you run out of inspiration.” -Rudolf Nureyev

*cue epic music*

I will take the last weeks of August to enjoy being a schlump, and then I will begin my quest for inspiration through persperation.  Anyone care to join me?

Addendum:  And whilst we’re waxing philosophical, a group of articles to read through and ponder…have I fallen into this trap?  Have you?

3 responses

  1. Yes…yes I am in…here is my inspiration.

    August 12, 2009 at 11:14 am

  2. I plead guilty. I take pictures to document what’s going on in my little township, down on the beach, back in the woods, at the farmers markets. I always have my dinged-up little point and shoot with me, and I very often find things that interest me that I want to capture. The extent of my ambition is just to get the damn things in focus once in awhile. However. By looking at some other blogs I’ve come to see that I can document AND do something more visually interesting once in awhile. So I’m in, too, in my own way. September is shaping up to be an interesting month. (But I’m not giving up flower and bug macros. I love flower and bug macros. And cheesy postcards. And beer.)

    August 15, 2009 at 9:40 am

  3. morningjoy

    I’m with you.
    I must confess to being camera lazy this summer. It’s time to get back to my passion. Inspiration abounds if we just pause long enough to open our senses.

    August 18, 2009 at 8:19 am

Leave a Reply

