A Phoenix Burning

Confessions

Okay it’s time to come clean.  My name is KD, and I’m a Twilight Addict.

So I bought the book Twilight by Stephenie Meyer around Christmas time, knowing that it would only be a matter of time before Big Girl picked it up to read it herself.  Based on my nieces’ advice that, “THERE’S NO WAY YOU CAN LET HER READ BOOK FOUR!!”  I decided I had better pre-read the series.  There the book sat for months.  I was reading other things and quite frankly, had no interest.  So then Big Girl had a friend here for a sleepover and Twilight was the movie of choice.  Zan and I sat down to watch it with them, and I thought, “Okay, now I’ll see what all the fuss is about.”  Truthfully, I didn’t get it….the fuss.  The movie special effects were mediocre at best (and I’m being kind,) the story was choppy, and there were so many things I didn’t quite “get”…but I was fascinated.  I decided to read the book to see if that might help explain why girls and their mothers were ga-ga over this series, because I certainly couldn’t grasp it.  And I still figured I should pre-read before Big Girl got too far.

Well, the first book was like eating candy…effortless.  It took me less than two days to read it.  Decent story, very endearing, and all those things that I didn’t quite “get” I got.  (The movie left a LOT of holes in the character development.)  And then something happened in Book 2.  About a quarter of the way in, I completely forgot I was pre-reading for a tween, and was lost in the story.  I did little else but read for the next five days as I finished the last three books.  (I was very put-out when that Mommy responsibility got in the way of my reading time.)  Then I turned around and read them again, this time with the intent of reading them with a mother’s eye so I could truly decide which books were appropriate and which conversations would have to be had if I was going to allow my daughter to read them all.  And of course I’ve had to rewatch the movie a few times…(not because Robert Pattinson is so yummy of course. *ahem*)  And I’ve managed to pull five other people into my little Twilight addiction…(so far Zan has resisted.  He really needs to visit Twilight Guy…I’ve told him I need his advice on whether or not our daughter should read the first quarter of Book Four-Breaking Dawn, but he’s not buying.)

So I confess all of this to you, just so I can share with you the new trailer for the second movie, “New Moon” which promises to be a thousand times better than the first.  If you plan to read the series and hate spoilers, then don’t click.  If you are an addict like me, you’ve already watched this clip more than once.  And if you’re on the fence…pick up the book Twilight and enjoy it for all it’s teen-romance glory, THEN come back and watch the trailer.  But be ready to hop on for the long ride, because once you enter the Twilight Zone, you won’t be able to tear yourself free.  😉

TEAM EDWARD!!  (Sorry Jake.)

Coming to theatres November 20, 2009. 

 

Oh, and just an aside….this trailer alone should win an Academy Award.  This movie is going to be UNBELIEVABLE!!!

4 responses

  1. I wasn’t impressed with the movie AT ALL, and didn’t see what the fuss is all about. Melissa (my 12-year-old) read the first book… maybe the second, too?…. and was dying to see the movie, and of course she loved it.

    So what is it about book 4 that your daughter shouldn’t read? Since our girls are about the same age (I think?) and I have no intentions – or the time! – to pre-read the books, I’d appreciate your advice.
    You can e-mail me if there are any possible spoilers. Thanks!

    June 2, 2009 at 8:44 am

    • I sent you a missive by e-mail Daily! LOL The entire series is worth Book Club-like discussions, but since we can’t do that here…..

      June 2, 2009 at 11:37 am

  2. karma

    KD, I’ve been wondering myself about that whole Twilight series. My 8th grader read them all this year, I have not. I work in a middle school and of course see the books everywhere. My 6th grader has not yet asked to read them, but I wonder if it is coming. I was thinking of reading the series this summer, since once we are out of school I spend many hours a day lazily reading. Have you decided yet if you will let her read book #4? I’ve heard what the big issue is, and I don’t think it was an issue at all for my 8th grader, but I do wonder for my younger daughter.

    June 2, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    • Karma…I haven’t quite decided how to handle Book 4. I don’t want to make it off limits because then she’ll be sneaking to read it. She’s a pretty mature kid, so I think I will be letting her read it, and we’ll be discussing it as she goes. But I would HIGHLY suggest you read it too so you can discuss it with her.

      June 2, 2009 at 3:04 pm

Leave a Reply

