A Phoenix Burning

Deeper Than Color

So, I’m getting my hair highlighted for the first time ever on Saturday.  I always swore I would “age naturally and gracefully” but then the gray hairs started to really pop out.  People have started looking up at my wiry little gray stragglers rather than at my eyes when they talk to me.  To hell with aging naturally!  I may still be able to hold on to gracefully though, if I get my act together. 

But this whole hair coloring thing has gotten me thinking.  What good is looking 30-ish when you feel 80-ish?  I have been “out of balance” for quite awhile now.  Being naturally skinny, I’ve never paid much attention to what I eat, and I’ve been able to get by without much formal exercise.  (I have used the excuses that keeping up with the kids is exercise enough…running loads of laundry up and down two flights of stairs should count…) Now as I approach 40, I feel out of whack—my body is not my own all of a sudden and it’s time to get serious.  I don’t want to be that skinny, decrepate, hunched over old lady at 70.  I want to be healthy enough and strong enough to travel the world with Zan when we are empty nesters and that’s still a good 16 years away (thank God!)  I want to be emotionally stable enough to face all my kids teenage years without becoming a closet alcoholic.  So for the first time ever (outside of my 30 total months of pregnancy) I am going to take serious care of my insides so they will be worthy of my new younger-looking outsides.

I am surrounded by people who are working hard to take better care of themselves, so there’s never been a better time than now.  It may seem a small thing, but my first order of business is drinking my quota of water…I am very naughty in this area so this will be a challenge.  And I have to break my addiction to caffeine.  SO much easier said than done.  I’m a coffee-holic.  This will be the tough one.  Adding vitamins, cutting out the crappy carbs (goodbye potato bread…I loooovvvved you…..*she whispers longingly*)  Eating my servings of fruits and veggies instead of those lovely cans of corned beef hash, frozen microwaveable hot pockets, and fries from McD’s.  And then, the true challenge for me, getting back to yoga and staying with it.  I’ve been lamenting the loss of my yoga for years now…it’s time to reclaim the peace and strength I felt back then. 

It won’t all happen at once, but I can’t continue to be passive and expect my body to take care of itself like it always has.  It’s letting me know that it needs a little help.  We all have our demons to battle, and now I enter a battle of my own.  Hair color may come in a bottle, but health doesn’t no matter what the commercials tell you.

8 responses

  1. Ahhh…I know this feeling. I managed to carry-on through my 40’s but here in my early 50’s, I am beginning to feel things more. There are nagging injuries that don’t want to go away. With summer, I know I will swim more and I am hoping that will get me back into shape but gravity is a very unforgiving force.

    May 28, 2009 at 1:25 pm

  2. Come join Homer and I on the cycle world. It makes you want to eat the right things rather than feeling you should eat the right things. I was starting to loose major weight before my return from Maine. Avoid deers, they are hell on a diet.

    May 28, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    • Hey, I just might try a bit of that cycling stuff. Mister would love to ride in his little wagonny bike attachment thingy.

      May 29, 2009 at 12:17 pm

  3. I find you timeless and beautiful. As beautiful inside as you are easy on the eyes. Do what makes you feel better but know that you are still amazing.

    Deers? Do you eat whole deers? or did you mean beers?

    May 29, 2009 at 11:34 am

    • Shrew hit a deer last week…totalled her Jeep. Tell her about you hitting three deer in one year, Dear. 😉
      And thank you…you are too good to me.

      May 29, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    • Oh, and I see you liked that website I sent you. LOL

      May 29, 2009 at 12:17 pm

  4. NOT TOTALLED!!!! WOOOOHOOO as my niece said:

    Jeep Liberty 1, Deer 0

    May 29, 2009 at 6:13 pm

  5. morningjoy

    Good idea! I’m glad you listened to your body. Attack your remodeling project little by little until each step becomes a life style.
    Now, I need to take my own advice and embark on the same kind of project. LOL
    I walk daily, but that’s not enough. My diet’s pretty good, but I need more strength and endurance. I’m thinking of Pilates. As for the hair, I’ve reached the point of no return.

    June 1, 2009 at 8:19 am

Leave a Reply

