A Phoenix Burning

Sharing

So, in my pre-stay-at-home-Mommy days, I was a teacher.  I taught Special Education for seven years, and then spent the last five years of my time teaching English Language Arts.  I found so many great resources on the web, and the resources that I couldn’t find, I’d create myself.  At one point in time, I dreamt of attempting a “side job” of writing children’s literature…simple, silly stuff…fun stuff.  Nothing too deep or complex.  But if I’m being honest with myself, I don’t have the tenacity it takes to kick-start that type of career.  And besides, my creative mind is extremely fickle.  I can go for months with no ideas, and then all of a sudden, something pops in my head and I have to go write it down. 

In this way, “Beulah the Barking Cow” was created.  I wrote it one afternoon when, while baking a cheesecake, the idea popped into my head.  As soon as I threw the cheesecake in the oven, I sat down to write and Beulah was born.  I did a couple of slight revisions, but it pretty much wrote itself.  As I re-read it now, there are things I would change…the rhythm is a tad off in spots…and it could use a bit more development.  But I doubt I will revisit it again for some time.

So, rather than have it sit in a drawer, I’ve decided to share it with you.  Hopefully some teacher out there somewhere will come across it and be able to use it….my way of giving just a little bit back to the “internets.”  All I ask is that you keep my name attached to it if you do.  If I ever see Beulah sitting on a Barnes and Noble shelf with someone else’s name on the cover, I shall be very put out.  😉 

Below is the first stanza…Click the title to follow the link over to The Junction to read the rest of the story if you are so inclined.

“Beulah the Barking Cow”  by K. Duba

One fine day in the summer sun

Beulah’s fun had just begun.

She hopped to the field, out for a lark.

She went to moo, but out came a bark!

4 responses

  1. That is so cute!!! You need someone to illustrate it, make a book at blurb.com and SELL IT!!
    Melissa is really good at drawing, want me to ask her if she wants to illustrate it?

    April 25, 2009 at 7:27 am

    • Thank you Daily! I may put it to Blurb eventually, but it needs a bit of work first.
      And thanks for the offer! But I am so fortunate to have a very dear, and extremely talented artist friend who has first dibs on all my work. 🙂

      April 25, 2009 at 9:31 am

  2. morningjoy

    Poor Beulah. I know how she feels. The strangest things come out of my mouth sometimes.
    I’m a retired NBCT teacher with a master’s in Special Ed. I know children would love your little poem. It’s a great writing prompt! Perhaps I can pass it along to some of my still-employed friends.

    April 26, 2009 at 6:15 pm

  3. MGF

    The story is sweet. I can relate.

    Thank you for the kind words after my hard week.

    April 27, 2009 at 10:52 pm

Leave a Reply

