A Phoenix Burning

This Week’s Assignment

Addendum:  At Shrew’s suggestion, here is the text of the assignment:  (good idea Shrew!)

Take a moment and study this word list:

  • security
  • access
  • connections
  • risk
  • safety
  • despair
  • noise
  • instability
  • caution
  • indifference
  • loss
  • stubbornness
  • elation
  • lethargy
  • ambition
  • abandonment
  • grief or
  • love

Pick any two words from the above list and upload two images, each one conveying the message of the word you chose.

Conceptual Photography.  Yikes!  Here’s my first attempt.

Here’s another…which do you like better?  Same subject, yet they each say something very different, and I’m torn over which one to use for my assignment.  I think the top one is a more realistic in terms of “concept” of love and commitment.  It’s not always bright and clear…love may be shadowed at times, and yet…the foundation that you base your commitment on stands clear.  I think the second one conceptualizes a “newbie” marriage.  *tee*hee*  “All you need is love” and all that jazz.  😉  I don’t know…I would like  to hear what you think.   And maybe you see something different…or maybe I’ve missed the mark completely.  Opinions solicited!  Have at it!

6 responses

  1. Beautiful light

    March 29, 2009 at 8:03 pm

  2. Perhaps if you share the instructions it will be better for us to judge.

    March 30, 2009 at 12:25 pm

  3. karma

    Honesty here? I really didn’t get “love” at all from the first image. I didn’t realize the word was even in there until I saw the 2nd image. I think I may be missing the point of the assignment too. My first thoughts to convey the message “love” would be of a kiss or a hug or a mama admiring her kiddos. I hope I’m not being too blunt or off base here! 😉

    March 30, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    • Honesty is always appreciated. Never fear! I wouldn’t ask if I didn’t want opinions. 🙂

      But it’s conceptual…no people or people parts allowed. Quite challenging to say the least. 🙂 Ah, well, that’s the point, isn’t it? He’s making us stretch. We’re supposed to photographically represent one of the words from the list.
      For example, this image:
      http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3033/2928215140_dcca06fc1d.jpg?v=0
      could represent a number of things including loneliness, isolation, strength, etc. Too bad I can’t use an old image. lol
      The word love is nearly invisible here on WordPress isn’t it? You can see it in shadow if you view it large.

      Anyway, thanks for your input Karma!

      March 30, 2009 at 8:07 pm

  4. karma

    Ah… I didn’t realize that “no humans” was inherent in “conceptual.”

    March 30, 2009 at 8:37 pm

  5. TWO RINGS….TWO RINGS!!! That says love, union!

    April 1, 2009 at 2:52 pm

Leave a Reply

