A Phoenix Burning

Big Decisions…

So I have a HUGE decision to make…I will apologize right now that I cannot discuss what that decision is here.  (“So why are you even telling us if you can’t discuss it?  That’s not fair!”  you say.)  Well, because this place has become my outlet…..and because I need to vent it—my frustration with my indecision.

I have the opportunity to do something important…to get out of the house a little bit, and be an intelligent adult once again.   It is a chance to work with people I respect and admire without going back to work.  “So what’s the problem?!” you ask.  Well, the problem is, the list of cons is very extensive, almost prohibitive…. the list of pros?  All selfish, as listed above.

Have you ever grappled with a decision like that?  One where every ounce of your brain is telling you run as far away as you can, but your heart is telling you that you’d be crazy not to just go for it?  My dear Zan and my Big Girl say go for it…eveyone else I care about says I’d be crazy to get involved.  *sigh*  Little help there.

At times I think it could be an answer to a prayer…at other times, I think it is a test.  And I wish this was one of those things that I could say “in the grand scheme of life, this is a little decision” but it isn’t.  Being an adult is hard work sometimes isn’t it? 

Anyway…thanks for letting me vent.  I’ll let you know when I reach a decision over the next couple of days.   Pass along any words of wisdom you may have…any and all would be appreciated.  🙂

8 responses

  1. karma

    I’d love to offer some wisdom, but it is difficult not knowing your exact situation. Best advice I can give: if your heart and soul say do it and your immediate, nuclear family says do it, then I’d say do it. Your heart and your family’s hearts are the most important. Is it something that cannot be undone if you are unhappy with it? If its not, then you’ve got nothing to lose.

    March 7, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    • It’s a long term commitment. Definitely can’t “test the waters” first. Ah, well. Thanks for your words…they really do help. 🙂 I have a meeting tomorrow morning with someone who can shed some valuable light on my situation. *crossing fingers*

      March 7, 2009 at 7:31 pm

  2. She wants to get a sex change. I say go for it.. I kinda dig girly men….

    March 7, 2009 at 10:34 pm

  3. KD — My father in law always offered what he called the “Peace Principle” for big decisions…particularly ones like you are describing.

    The Peace Principle is basically praying for the guidance and wisdom to know what God’s plan for our lives are. Then weigh each alternative. One will clearly give you “peace” and that is the direction you should go in.

    Psalm 16:11 says “You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are treasures evermore.”

    Remember that God wants you to have the “desires of your heart”, so don’t think anything is impossible.

    March 8, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    • Thank you MM…Your father-in-law sounds like a very wise man. “Peace Principle” I like the sound of that. Will certainly give it a try.

      March 9, 2009 at 6:38 am

  4. Amy

    I always say…’I can do anything short-term.’ If it is something that you think you may be able to do and still get some ‘adult’ time in,…go for it! Your kids will love and admire you for trying a new adventure…going out and testing the waters…if it doesn’t work for you, you can always try something else. I hope you can come to a conclusion and feel good about the choice you make…having peace within!!

    March 9, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    • Thanks Amy. 🙂 Glad to see you stopped by!

      March 10, 2009 at 10:09 am

  5. I don’t know if you decided yet since I have been dealing with what life threw at me myself; but my two cents are…

    Will the regret of not trying it eat you up?

    If it will, you need to do it; your family is behind you, your heart is yerning for it and the “nay” sayers are just reacting to what they would do, NOT what you would do.

    March 10, 2009 at 2:29 pm

Leave a Reply

