A Phoenix Burning

Night Watch

It is 3:15 in the morning, and I’m trying to stay awake, therefore you get to listen to me whine a bit.  Poor poor poor little Mister…He has the stomach bug BAD.   Yesterday I had to change his diaper every 5 minutes for the first two hours of the morning, and then 3-5 times an hour after that for the rest of the day.  His poor little bottom is as red as a tomato and so sore he screams when I have to change him.  Things settled down by evening and I was just grateful that he got through the day without throwing up.  He kept drinking a ton, so by bedtime I thought we had bypassed the “grownups” as Little Girl used to call them.  Not so.  He woke up around 11:30, with diarrhea up to his ears (not exaggerating) and then the “grownups” started.  I have done so many loads of laundry I’ve lost count, and my hands are bleeding from washing them so much.  He begged to go back to bed half an hour ago.  I was hoping he’d fall asleep on the couch with me, but he wanted his bed.  Problem being, I’m so tired, I’m afraid to go to sleep for fear I won’t hear him if he needs me.  Of course, that’s not possible…but there’s that irrational fear of sleeping through him aspirating in his crib that is keeping me awake.  So, lucky you!  You get to keep me company!!!!!  🙂

I have been watching HGTV for hours now.  House Hunters International was pretty good…they were searching for a vacation home in Panama.  Quite pretty there!  Hey, and this Leah girl on My First Place looks way too familiar.  But they are somewhere out west.  I don’t think I really know her. 

And speaking of TV…anyone watching Survivor?  That blonde girl that almost got kicked off tonight looks like she could be Orlando Bloom’s baby sister, doesn’t she?  Yes, Landy is prettier, but you see it, right?  Okay….I really think I know this Leah girl.  Hmmm….but from where?  She must look like someone I know.

So, I’m not sure now how I’m going to pull off this week’s assignment.  I have to choose a subject that gets direct sunlight either at sunrise or sunset.  I need to be at the location for 30 minutes prior to sunrise shooting, and thirty minutes prior to sunset shooting.  I then need to shoot the subject at midday.  Very cool assignment, which I put off until Zan’s three day weekend…Something tells me I won’t be out playing photographer in two hours.  (Okay, it’s really making me crazy how familiar this girl looks….)  Maybe I’ll be able to go out on Saturday?  Assignment is due Sunday.  Yikes!  And the likelihood of me not catching this stomach bug when I’ve been elbow deep in diarrhea and vomit????  Nil.  Hopefully I’ll get it AFTER I upload my assignment.

Okay, so let’s head on over to Flickr…see if we can find any interesting photostreams….

Ohhh…here’s one. …Victor Rufino… Wow!

Man, I’m tired. 

Maybe I’ll close my eyes for just a minute.  Thanks for keeping me company. 

Good night, sleep well.  I’ll most likely kill you in the morning.  (Name that movie!)

************15 minutes later**************

Okay, so just as I’m getting ready to calm down and close my eyes, my sweet boy wakes a bit, coughs, says, “Mama?” and then goes back to sleep.  So now my hearts racing and I’m glued to the monitor for a bit longer.  Lucky you!

So I checked in at Music Maven…was pleasantly surprised to see a Taylor Hicks music video linked over there.  Good video.  I still hate that song.  “Don’t say hate…it’s not nice.”  Okay, so I still don’t find that song appealing.  Is that better? 

Uh, oh…more tossing and turning.  That’s not good. 

I’m hungry.  I could go for a pint of Ben and Jerry’s Coffee Heath Bar Crunch right now.  Or a pizza. 

Infomercials have started.  I so need this HAAN floor washer thingy…not.  Ew, look at that filthy mop!  How unsanitary!  But now look at this HAAN that washes and dries the floor at the same time.  Kills 99.9% of germs and bacteria.  Hey, maybe I could use it after all.

So, who’s watching American Idol, eh?  I was very relieved to say tata to Tatiana.  That girl needs counseling. 

More tossing.

I’m really hungry.  How the heck can I be hungry?  And I’m getting very sleepy.  I read about this woman who e-mailed in her sleep and said strange things.  Maybe I’ll be in the news as the first woman to blog in her sleep.  Imagine the strange things I’d write in my sleep if I wrote all of the above awake!

Oh, come on now!!!  Lady!!!  Don’t pour that wine on that carpet!!!!!!!!!  Geez Louise!!!!!!!!  Oh, but the HAAN cleans that right up.  Amazing!  Hey, I wonder if that would’ve cleaned up the vomit on the rug two hours ago? 

All I wanna do…is be with you, be with you…there’s nothing we can do…just wanna be with you only you…lalalala….Sorry…I have that danged song stuck in my head.  High School Musical Three came out on DVD a couple days ago, and has been playing in my house ALOT.  Here, let me share the fun…

Just gonna close my eyes for a *wee* bit…………

5 responses

  1. “Good night, sleep well. I’ll most likely kill you in the morning.”

    Princess Bride. Who said it to whom? The dreaded Pirate Roberts to Wesley. Not that I’ve seen this movie a few times or anything. 🙂 Have the coffee handy today, you’re going to need it.

    February 20, 2009 at 6:48 am

    • *BING*BING*BING*
      Got on the first comment of the morning!!! 🙂
      Yeah…I’m not exaggerating when I say I’ve seen that movie at least a hundred times! And I still love it as much now as I did when I first saw it. I know we have a couple of other fans in the house… 😉
      I laid my head down at 4:30, and Zan came down to take over “the watch” at 5:30…I slept until 7:00. Zan just put a cup of coffee in my hand! I’m good to go!

      February 20, 2009 at 7:44 am

  2. I love that movie!! Haven’t seen it in forever, though.
    What a night you had… I hope your son is feeling much better again (and no one else got sick!!)

    February 21, 2009 at 6:39 am

  3. karma

    Wow, what a stream-of-consciousness (or semi-consciousness?)writing. Funny the places your mind can drift, huh?
    Hope everyone’s feeling okay.

    February 21, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    • Yeah…I almost deleted that post the next morning. LOL 🙂 Mister is on the mend, but it’s not over yet…this has been a tough one.

      February 22, 2009 at 10:46 am

Leave a Reply

