A Phoenix Burning

Between the Cracks

Once upon a time, a long time ago, I dreamed of buying this property and turning it into a private school…I would call it “Between the Cracks” and it would serve all those kids who didn’t qualify for special education services according to State guidelines, yet needed those specialized services nonetheless.  I would take some of the best educators I knew with me, and we would run an innovative, ambitious program, built on the backbone of good practice,  love, and effective discipline.  I even pictured a yellow flower bursting through a crack in the pavement in my mind which would be painted over the entryway.  Everytime I pass this building it calls to me, and yet it continues to fall deeper and deeper into disrepair as my life kind of bypasses that dream.  I really wish someone would save it.

2 responses

  1. Okay not to detract from the lovely thought and image…but seriously…can you imagine if your dream came true what your students who are 9-15 males would make of the school name?

    February 3, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    • OMG!!!!! How the HELL did I not THINK of that???!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BWAHAHAHAHAHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!! Or, maybe I should ask, ZAN?! Why didn’t YOU think of that?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      February 3, 2009 at 4:00 pm

Leave a Reply

