A Phoenix Burning

Mullet Man

So in less than three weeks, Mr. Baby Boy will turn a whole two years old.  (What will I call him then, I wonder?)  It has been apparent to me for some time that I must must must take the boy to get his first haircut.  For months now  Zan and Neighbor Man have been threatening to cut it off one curl at a time so I don’t notice right away.  Despite his jeans, blue coat, and Converse sneakers, he’s been called a “she” more times than I can count in the last three months, and that alone is reason enough for Zan.  Big Girl braids it and says, “Mom…look.  He NEEDS a haircut!!!!”  When she began calling him Mullet Man, I was shamed into thinking they might all be right.  So, on Friday, my sweet baby boy will lose his sweet baby curls and will look like the little boy he’s grown to be.  Of course, I had to get a photo of that frizz ball of a mullet that has grown on the back of his head before it’s gone.  I took this photo an hour ago while he was mesmerized by his favorite movie. 

3 responses

  1. Anywho

    Be brave Mama!!!! His curls are adorable, but I had the word mullet on my mind the last time I saw him. Sorry. Good thing you have a TON of pictures!

    January 21, 2009 at 6:35 pm

  2. renae

    Aww, I like this shot. And not just because I know the dang movie by heart now.

    Bite the mullet, er, I mean bullet, KD. You can do it! I felt the same way when my little guy needed his first cut last summer. “But he won’t look like my BA-BEE anymore!” I wailed. Even though he had a 6″ comb over across his giant noggin, I was still in denial.
    But you know what? He came out looking even cuter than I could have imagined and I was kicking myself for not doing it sooner.

    Good luck!

    January 22, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    • Renae, you crack me up! LOL
      Yes, ladies, today is the day, and I’m actually quite excited aout it as I look at his little frizz ball. It was all cute, soft and curly last night after his bath, and this morning it looks like a brillo pad. It has to go! Now I’m just crossing my fingers that he doesn’t pitch a giant fit in the chair and lose an ear!

      January 23, 2009 at 6:50 am

Leave a Reply

