A Phoenix Burning

Ghost Driver…

I almost forgot to tell you!  The weirdest thing happened to me today!  I was on my way to Mister’s Peewee Soccer (that’s a whole other story, which I’ll save for another day!) and all of a sudden a car backed out of a driveway in front of me…I slammed on my brakes, and then had the sense (in the middle of my swearing tirade) to notice that there was NO ONE IN IT!!!!!  The car proceeded to drive backwards across the street into another driveway and straight into their closed garage door.  CRAZY!!!  I stopped, knocked on the car owner’s apartment door, and the second she opened it, she glanced across the street, noticed her car and yelled, “OH MY GOD!!!!”  I felt kind of silly saying, “Um, yeah, I was just letting you know that your car backed out in front of me and is sitting in the middle of your neighbor’s garage door.” 

You just can’t make this stuff up.

One response

  1. Funny you should say that. When I was in California, apparently the same thing happened here one snowy/icy morning. Our son arrived home one morning and parked the pickup truck at the top of our driveway. Then he got out and spent a good amount of time clearing the other part of the driveway for the other cars. He went up to his room and fell asleep, but kinda hear the sound of tires on slush, followed by a crash. He thought there was an accident outside, and looked through the window. He saw our pickup truck at the bottom of the driveway, right up against the trees lining the front of the house. Fortunately, a snow bank stopped the slide, else it would have hit the car parked across the street, and might have pushed it onto the downslope and into the neighbor’s yard … which led into their front door. Talk about close calls.

    Yeah. You really can’t make this stuff up. 🙂 Glad to hear no one was hurt.

    January 21, 2009 at 6:10 pm

Leave a Reply

