A Phoenix Burning

Lesson #1

I have learned:

* what a correct exposure is

* what aperture is, where to find it, what it does, and how to change it

*  what shutter speed is, how it is related to aperture and ISO (oh, yeah, I learned what the heck that is too!) , where to find it, and how to change it

* how to do that “isolated subject” thing

* how to use my Manual Setting!!  Yay!

Here’s a practice photo with an aperture f/5.6  and shutter speed of 1/25th second

And the same shot, with an aperture of   f/22 and a shutter speed of 1.6 sec.

And who knew that the smaller the f/ number, the bigger the opening?  And that changing one thing necessitates changing another???  Crazy I tell ya!  No wonder I’ve been clueless for so long! 

So cool!

2 responses

  1. karma

    I keep trying to keep that stuff straight in my head, but I think its kinda like foreign languages – if you don’t use it, you lose it. All too often I’m willing to let “Auto” or the “scene selection” buttons do most of my work.

    January 13, 2009 at 4:22 pm

  2. JUST USE THE AUTOMATIC SETTING (Like Me).

    January 14, 2009 at 1:01 pm

Leave a Reply

