A Phoenix Burning

Turning the Calendar

January 1st has never been the start of a new year for me…well, yes we change the number, but September has always been my New Year…my time for starting things, revisiting my priorities, and reactivating a schedule.  I guess it’s the student schedule that never changed because I became a teacher.  However, I can’t help but take a minute today to look back over the year.  Although the world has been warped by chaos, my own family seems to have been strangely cushioned from the outside world, and for that I am very thankful.  Yes, our stocks have dropped with the rest of the world’s, Zan’s job has gotten more and more demanding, and we’ve had to adjust to his travel schedule.  But despite all that, we have been healthy, safe, and blessed with the things that really matter.  We have enjoyed each other in the small hours of the day, not just the big memory-making moments.   We have accomplished home improvements, nap schedules (no small feat), Middle School adjustments, and space organization.  My children are happy, well-adjusted, loving, respectful, and emotionally stronger than they were at the start of the year.  I couldn’t ask for more than that. 

I also took a minute to look back over the “blog year.”  One of the stories I shared with you awhile ago, I want to revisit for just a minute to give you an update.  Our neighborhood “Lost Boy.”  He is an absolute love, and I am very proud that our family and Dear Neighbor’s family has had a hand in giving him a little bit of what he needs.  He doesn’t come around to Neighbor’s house everyday anymore, but he is around us enough that we can keep tabs on him.  He is no longer riding willynilly around the town.  He talks to us when he is around, and he trusts us.  I’ve also seen his father around a lot more, and he is excited to tell us about working on cars and such with his dad.  AND, probably most important of all, when he is spending time at Neighbor’s house, his parents call to check on him, or have him come home before dark.  Small steps, but significant ones. 

Since I’m not one for New Year’s Resolutions, I will end here by wishing a very Happy New Year to all of you, and many blessings for a 2009 filled with “enough” of everything that really matters.

3 responses

  1. karma

    Sounds like a great way to look at the New Year. Looking forward to your posts of ’09! (My scary birthday year!)

    January 1, 2009 at 3:54 pm

  2. Great Year. Looking for a better one. 😉

    See you tonight darling.

    Zan

    January 2, 2009 at 11:53 am

    • Watch your links Zan, or I’ll ban your butt. Love you too Honey. 😉

      January 2, 2009 at 1:31 pm

Leave a Reply

