A Phoenix Burning

White Christmas

We fared much better than thousands.  For us, the storm dumped more snow than sleet or ice, and we kept our power.  I’m very thankful.  School was cancelled, so I have my sweeties home with me today.  And I could tell you the hilarious story of how I went outside to clear the driveway this morning since Zan is not available to be my Hero, but I will spare you the details.  I will just say that hauling a stalled snowblower back up the icy driveway, while waiting for the roof ice to dump off my slate roof and kill me, is an experience I could have lived without!  Luckily my Dear Neighbor was outside to cheer me on and laugh at me the entire time!  *tee*hee*  I managed to shovel and blow a narrow path just wide enough to back my car through.  The rest will wait for Dear Neighbor’s husband, who is my Backup Hero, to come and finish the job.  I’ll have to get busy so I have his favorite brownies waiting for him when he pulls in.  I’m not above bribery.  🙂

It really is quite beautiful outside this morning.  Take a peek.

The view from my porch before the storm:

And after:

And look how pretty this tree is this morning.  Remember those berries that were in my masthead awhile back?

And our plowdrivers have been very busy.  (Thank you!)

6 responses

  1. Oh my goodness, that is soooo beautiful! I wish I could hop on the next plane and come visit 😉
    All we got here in Stupidtexas is about 15 minutes of sleet a few nights ago (Tuesday?) and weather cold enough for snow, but of course there wasn’t a flake in sight. It’s a depressing 72 degrees outside right now.
    Enjoy that beautiful snow…. and build a little snowman for me 🙂

    December 12, 2008 at 4:06 pm

  2. zandic

    Wow. It was wet and cold in nyc but no snow. Thank god.

    December 13, 2008 at 9:49 am

    • Apparently 1.25 million people are still without power throughout the Northeast…feeling even more fortunate as I hear about the damage that just missed us.
      It is so so pretty here this morning. The sun is shining, and everything is white and sparkling. It’s COLD (14 degrees) so the ice hasn’t melted yet.

      December 13, 2008 at 12:27 pm

  3. Amy

    I’m waiting for the snow to fall this weekend…we’re going to get just a dusting…but I just can’t wait to watch it fall!!

    December 13, 2008 at 12:38 pm

  4. karma

    Our dear friend Renae is one of those without power here in the Northeast. She had to take off for the in-laws’, so I don’t know how much blog-reading time she’ll be getting. My section of MA was spared we had only rain.

    December 15, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    • Oh, No! Thanks for letting us know. Will be sending good thoughts and some prayers her way. It is warm here today, but started pouring rain a bit ago. My roof dumped a ton of thick ice and snow on my driveway! If you’ve ever heard a slate roof let go, you’ll know that it feels and sounds like an earthquake. Looks like the trees here are all clear of ice, so hopefully only recovery from here on out for everyone, and no more outages. The TV stations have had a steady stream of closings and warming shelter locations going since last Thursday.

      December 15, 2008 at 3:23 pm

Leave a Reply

