A Phoenix Burning

Bahookie…a Word Whose Time Has Come

So, apparently some new words have been added to the dictionary.  You can read the entire article here.  “Bahookie” is one of the words added and according to the article is Scottish slang for “buttocks.”  What a handy little word bahookie will be in my house!  Let’s try it, shall we?

“Move your bahookie!”  sounds so much less abusive than “Move your arse!”

“Get your hands off the bahookie!  I’m trying to cook dinner!”

“You are SUCH a pain in the bahookie!”

“Stop being such a bahookie-wipe.”  Nah…asswipe just works better.

“Get your bahookie upstairs…it’s past bedtime!”

“You’re a bahookie…”

Ah, yes…handy little word, that.  🙂  It’s almost as useful as “ballocks!”

If you’d like to find more handy little Scottish words, check out this little reference dictionary.

6 responses

  1. karma

    I’ll make an effort to add this to my everyday vocabulary! 😉

    November 19, 2008 at 10:30 pm

  2. Seee..in Joisey…that word means the guy who places da bet for yous…you know “gotta call my bahookie and see what the over under is on da Giants”

    November 20, 2008 at 4:02 pm

  3. BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    November 20, 2008 at 5:57 pm

  4. The Southern version is Bahonkus. It is an integral part of my vocabulary…particularly with the children.

    November 22, 2008 at 7:40 am

  5. Oh, no! I can hear it now…in my house, Bahookie will become Bahonkie, will become Honkie, will become Honk. “Move yer HONK!!!”
    I LOVE it! LOL

    We’ve already got a few new ones straight from Baby Boy’s mouth…somehow “I need a diaper change” has become “Boomboom” as he grabs his unit. *rolling eyes* I have NO idea how he came up with that one…
    We’ve got “bebaybah” for basketball….”boobah” for football…”mum-yu” for “love you”…”wiwoo” is Wiggles….and of course the classic “VROOMVROOM” for anything with wheels! Trying to get the girls NOT speak everything in Baby Boy-ese is a trick. I really don’t want him screaming “BOOMBOOM” in Church as he grabs himself.
    Hmm…maybe I could teach him “Change my honk”…Nah…somehow that doesn’t sound much better. “Change my bahookie/bahonkus?” Yep…it’s gonna be boomboom forever isn’t it? *sigh*

    November 22, 2008 at 8:30 am

  6. JOHN MILLER

    “BAHOOKIE” WHAT A PERFECT REPLACEMENT WORD FOR ARSE!!

    September 11, 2009 at 2:16 am

Leave a Reply

