A Phoenix Burning

Where it All Started…

I promised myself today that I WOULD NOT stay at home glued to TV and internet coverage of the election.  I will check in and watch tonight, but I knew I would go out of my mind if I stayed home riveted all day.  So, I decided I would take Mister Baby Boy and go somewhere, anywhere for the morning.  However, since we are doing that little voluntary spending freeze thing (which sucks big nuggets by the way) I didn’t have a clue where to go.  So I let my camera do the deciding.  I’ve been wanting to go for awhile now, and I thought it fitting that I should visit Saratoga Battlefield today and take some photos of one of the historic places that make a day like today possible. 

To read the history of the Battles of Saratoga, which are considered the turning point of the American Revolution, click here.  It is hard to imagine these peaceful fields being the site of such intense fighting, but the heaviness of that fact palpably weighs on you as you make your way further and further into the park.  The land feels sacred, and I hope my prayers of thanks were heard by those for whom they were intended. 

I didn’t take nearly as many photos as I would have liked to, this being a fairly short drive through tour, but I share these with you in the hopes that they help to connect you to our past as they did me, and help to put this election, which seems all-encompassing, into perspective.

The surrounding woods, still holding on to some color.

Two of the many guns that dot the landscape:

Neilson Farm…This little house sits on top of the hill on Bemis Heights.  It belonged to one John Neilson who joined American troops opposing General Burgoyne’s advance.  The American staff officers used it as their quarters in September 1777.

Another view from the bottom of the hill:

These blue markers delineate the American fortification line on Bemis Heights:

Imagine these fields swarming with weary soldiers:

Memorial Marker:

And a tiny treat as I was driving out—can you see it?

And her little buddy:

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. ”  -The Declaration of Independence, Congress, July 4, 1776

7 responses

  1. Okay, girl. Stop showing off already with your gorgeous shots. I’m serious. The quality of your shots just gets better and better.

    All of these – and I mean every little ridiculously awesome one – are worthy of wall space. The color and lighting in that first one is unbelievable. And that fourth one? Talk about perfect composition.

    Looking at these just inspires me to continue trying to grow my photography.

    November 4, 2008 at 2:49 pm

  2. This is a very moving photo essay…you have taken the days events and boiled it into your purposeful story. Beautiful narrative.

    November 4, 2008 at 3:21 pm

  3. You got me all misty eyed you two. Thank you very sincerely. Funny—it’s you who do that to me…everytime I look through your photostreams I kick myself into working harder at getting better.

    This place is so inspirational though—when I say sacred, I mean it, and it was very important to me that the photos I presented did it justice.

    November 4, 2008 at 4:12 pm

  4. Woohoo! Made her cry, made her cry.

    Uh-oh. Is Zan going to go after us now? Shrew, we’ll have to watch each other’s back. 🙂

    (Sorry for breaking the serious mood. I’m on meds. They make me wacky.)

    November 4, 2008 at 5:30 pm

  5. I got the same feeling when I visited Gettysburg. It’s hared to imagine what it was like 150 and 200 years ago. But what those Americans (and future Americans) fought for was reaffirmed yesterday.

    Nice deer photos and a perfect example of how hard it is to see them this time of year.

    November 5, 2008 at 6:47 am

  6. Hey Scott…I haven’t been to Gettysburg, but it’s on the short list of places I want to see in the near future. We’re thinking of a spring trip to Williamsburg/Jamestown Settlement/Yorktown…Gettysburg would be next. (Yes Shrew, I’ll be asking for advice once we decide!) 😉

    The deer were practically invisible, and they were less than fifteen feet away. I saw a flash of movement out of the corner of my eye and stopped to look…at first I thought I was dreaming, but then one of them popped their head up to look. 🙂

    November 5, 2008 at 8:38 am

  7. I would never hurt any one of you for making KD cry. I keep telling her that she takes fantastic pictures but it is JUST like her cooking. She LOVES anything I cook but is SO critical of her own cooking. It is what drives her to be better so I can’t complain. But to get her to hear that her photos are awesome it takes the caring comments of those whose pictures she thinks are fantastic. She’d never believe me.

    November 5, 2008 at 8:20 pm

Leave a Reply

