A Phoenix Burning

Airing Grievances

So, the Top Ten were revealed on America’s Got Talent.  Here’s the list and their “talent”:

The Wright Kids: kid group singers
Neil E. Boyd: singer
Queen Emily: singer
Paul Salos: singer/Sinatra impersonator
Jessica Price: singer
Kaitlyn Maher: cute  er, I mean, singer
Donald Braswell: singer
Nuttin But Stringz: psycho (in a good way) violin duo

Eli Mattson: singer
Joseph Hall: singer/Elvis impersonator

Raise your hand if you see a pattern…

Now, Queen Emily has a very good voice, as does Neil Boyd, opera guy.  I suppose the Sinatra guy is okay (he’s very adorable) but since I never cared for Sinatra, his appeal is a little lost on me.  Eli is somewhat entertaining, but…….

I truly don’t think any of them would make it through the auditions for American Idol.  (Wait…maybe Queen Emily.  She reminds me a bit of Latisha and Mandissa.)  And since we all know how difficult it is for even the most talented singers to carve out a successful career after the wildly popular American Idol, I’m not sure how the producers figure any of these pseudo-caliber singers will be able to sustain a successful show in Vegas.  They’re competing with the likes of Celine Dion and Bette Midler, not to mention Elton John.  Even Elvis impersonators are a dime a dozen in Vegas.  Ah, well, perhaps their “Vegas Prize” will amount to singing in a back street bar lounge three nights a week?  Unless of course, Kaitlyn Maher wins.  No bars for her since she’s only four.  (I might add that it would not shock me if she did win…I’ve had more hits on my Kaitlyn Maher tag than on any other.)  I’m not trying to minimize the heart these people have, and Lord knows I give them credit for chasing their dreams, but…I find the final ten results puzzling.

Now, to the real question…America appears to value singing talent above all others, even if it’s mediocre singing.  Why? 

Anyone?  Anyone? 

Bueller?

4 responses

  1. Wait. Back up the bus….

    DON’T LIKE SINATRA?!?!? Wah? That’s unnatural, KD.

    Regarding AGT, we all know that Kaitllyn should not be in the Top Ten. While she’s super cute and tugs at the heartstrings, she’s not yet “talented”. The Elvis Impersonator…no. That leaves all of the singers, albeit from different genres, and Nuttin’ But Strings.

    Personally, I think that it comes down to the “Queen” and the Strings. Either one of them could draw a killer Vegas show. The others, not so much.

    September 15, 2008 at 11:45 am

  2. Oh, and I think singers are most identified with the audience because it’s what we know and are most comfortable with in terms of critiquing. The novelty stuff is great for the first performance but after that, there’s no real attraction. Singers can change things up with a song or beat and make it completely different, whereas a magic act is a magic act. However, the ventroliquist guy won a couple of year back, didn’t he?

    September 15, 2008 at 11:48 am

  3. Yeah, I know I know….It’s downright un-American to admit I don’t like Sinatra. I don’t know…his voice and style just never appealed to me. *ducking head*

    My money’s on Stringz…they’re the only ones I might be inclined to pay money to see.

    And I think you’re right about the audience identifying with singers most…we tend to stay within our comfort zones.
    Last year the ventriloquist guy won and has some crazy huge 100 million dollar contract in Vegas. But, he sang too albeit in several different voices.

    September 15, 2008 at 12:57 pm

  4. zandic

    The singers are all grouped into “singers”. And the nutty stringz guys are in the crazy musical category.

    Stringz will win this.

    September 17, 2008 at 8:45 am

Leave a Reply

