A Phoenix Burning

Freaky Fringe

So we watched last night’s premiere of Fringe.  I said to Zan, “It’s The X-Files on crack!”  Not sure what the heck to think of it.  It was very strange…good strange or bad stranget?  It’s too soon to tell.  I’m not loving the leading lady all that much…on the other hand, Lord Denethor as the crazy, yet brilliant doctor is perfect casting.  

Despite it’s freakiness, there is a bit of comic relief thrown in now and then.  Example, crazy doctor just gets out of the mental institution, and is riding in the back seat of the car, exclaims “Uuu!”  When asked what’s the matter he responds, “I pissed myself….just a squirt.”  Delivered by John Noble, priceless!

The story line jumps ahead quickly…at times I felt I missed something and could’ve used a bit (okay, alot) more backstory and character development.  Strange circumstances seem oddly contrived for apparent shock value.  Perhaps these weird twists and fantastic situations are done a bit tongue in cheek (hopefully.)  I also think they squeezed a whole lot of setup into this first show so they can dig right into the weirdness.  (From the previews of future weeks, it looks as though this first episode was mild in terms of freakiness.)

So I reserve judgement and leave the DVR set to record this show until I can figure out how I feel about it.  Worth a watch?  Maybe.  But must see?  Maybe not.

2 responses

  1. Hmmm…is it on Hulu?

    September 11, 2008 at 11:54 am

  2. http://www.hulu.com/fringe

    🙂

    I also *think* they are re-airing the Pilot on Sunday night.

    September 11, 2008 at 12:00 pm

Leave a Reply

