A Phoenix Burning

Sniffles

Well, the first cold of the season has struck the family.  It is an inevitable fact of life that the beginning of school brings the first cold, however, usually the first cold comes after the first week of school, not before.  I’m hoping it isn’t an ominous sign of things to come.  Little Girl was first, followed over the next twelve hours by her sister, and then her brother.  Time to stock up on those antibacterial hand cleansers, Lysol, and Clorox.    I know I know…I’m helping to create those superbugs, aren’t I?  But from September through March, I become Germ Killer, waging war on influenza, croupe, pneumonia, and viruses of the gastrointestinal tract.  I have lived through way too many 105 fevers, 2:00am hospital visits, administration of breathing treatments, and nights of mopping up vomit to become lax in my War on Germs.  I can’t protect my kids from anything outside my doors, but I can at least attempt to minimize the explosive growth of the little buggers in my home. 

2 responses

  1. Hope they feel better soon!
    It’s started here, too. The first week of school behind us, and Friday Sara was complaining of a sore throat, and now she has a stuffy/runny nose and a fever, too.
    Looks like this year it’s your kids’ turn to pass around the cold germs to all the other kids at school 😉

    August 31, 2008 at 8:13 am

  2. Aww, hope she feels better soon Daily! I can’t tell you how many third and fourth days of school my girls have collectively missed over the years!
    I had my oldest at the Dr. this morning (asthma acting up with the cold) and they said the yearly end of summer influx of respiratory infections started on Monday. Looks like it’s nationwide! lol

    August 31, 2008 at 10:38 am

Leave a Reply

