A Phoenix Burning

“Brrrrr! Almanac Predicts Cold, Wet Winter!”

Says AOL News….

Shocking!

Maybe I should start making my own predictions…

Leaves in the northern half of the country will change color and drop within the next two months. 

Shocking!

Nights soon to be cooler.

Shocking!

Heating costs will rise this winter.

Shocking!

Please pardon my sarcasm, but I couldn’t help thinking, “No sh*t Sherlock” when I read that headline this morning.  🙂

And I must say, I’m ready.  I could never live in a part of the country that doesn’t experience the seasons.  Maybe it’s because I’ve grown up with four seasons, maybe it’s just my personality…(I’m the type of person who needs to rearrange the furniture now and then, and change paint colors every few years.)  The change from Summer to Autumn is only second to Winter to Spring in my heart.  I LOVE Autumn!  I love the cooler nights, and warm days.  I love the fall skies.  I adore the changing colors, and the crisp smell that comes in Fall.  I love picking apples, and baking apple pies with friends.  I love shifting my menu from grilling meals to crockpot stews and soups, and baked hams and turkeys.  I love the swish swish of people walking past my house through the leaves that have dropped from my maple trees.  I love our Balloon Festival, and the freezing cold dark morning that draws us out of our beds before dawn, coffee and donuts in hand, to see the morning liftoff.  I love the return of a schedule and predictability, although the summer break from those are most welcome. 

My only slight regret is that my girls go back to school next Thursday.  I will miss having all my little chickadees at home.  However, they are ready.  They are beginning to get on each other’s nerves, and I find myself needing to play mediator more and more often…definitely time to get them back to their own lives and friends.  And I would be lying if I didn’t admit to looking a little forward to some daily alone time that Mister’s naptime will give me.  (Okay, so maybe I’m looking a lot forward to it….sue me why don’tcha!)  😉

And speaking of hot air balloons, we had the good fortune to come across these on the way home from the fair on Friday night.

7 responses

  1. zandic

    WHAT?? COLDER?? No no no.. say it with me.. Global Warming. Global Warming. Global Warming…..

    August 25, 2008 at 10:22 am

  2. karma

    Ha! Funny on those predictions – they really went out on a limb with that one, huh? No school til next Thursday? Wow! I went back today (for meetings & junk), kids come tomorrow. My own girls go back on Wednesday.

    August 25, 2008 at 3:20 pm

  3. Yeah, teachers here always go back the Tuesday after Labor Day and the kids return on either Wednesday or Thursday, depending on the year. We *almost* got postponed because so many of our buildings are in the middle of construction projects, but they’re going ahead as scheduled. Teachers are beside themselves because they can’t get into their rooms at my old building until this Friday. *yikes* (I know many teachers who usually start working flexible schedules, setting up their rooms, doing bulletin boards, planning, etc. about two weeks in advance.)
    How did your first day back go?

    August 25, 2008 at 3:30 pm

  4. karma

    Oh today was easy enough. Tomorrow is the big day of craziness! 😉

    August 25, 2008 at 7:58 pm

  5. Good luck tomorrow!
    I always loved the first day of school…but I think I loved the second day more. The first day, all the kids look all nervous and unsure of themselves…(in elementary anyway…) and then the second day, they come in all hoppy and happy! 🙂 Love it!

    August 25, 2008 at 8:13 pm

  6. Anywho

    Mediating quite a bit here myself. Something about the first two weeks and last two weeks of summer that brings it out. I was also just thinking of you, your camera, and the Balloon Fest yesterday!

    August 26, 2008 at 12:46 pm

  7. Anywho…I can’t wait! I had my camera last year, but wound up getting so little sleep the night before because of Mister Baby Boy, that everyone snuck out of the house before dawn without me last year. Remember, we had a housefull because of Zan’s birthday party? I was SO disappointed…so I’m looking extra forward to this year. 🙂

    August 26, 2008 at 1:35 pm

Leave a Reply

