A Phoenix Burning

SGDT-HC Day Whatever

Sorry!  I’ve lost track of time on my little not-a-vacation vacation!  I’ve also been lax in the photojournaling of my week.  (However, I’m sure you will not be sorry to hear that I did not photo document my annual trip to the OB/GYN yesterday.  *tee*hee)  I AM pleased to announce that Mr. Baby Boy survived my leaving him with Neighbor for the hour and a half that the appointment took!  As you know he has been leech boy since our trip, having entered that oh-so-fun separation anxiety stage, so I really had my own separation anxiety leaving him…and it wasn’t even for something fun like a date!  Geesh!  However, we both survived the experience quite well, which is a good thing given my diagnosis.

My darling doctor said, “I’m concerned and I’m going to write you a prescription…want to know what for?” 

At this point I started to sweat thinking he discovered something wrong with me.  “Yes, what for?” 

“Alone time!  And yoga!  By yourSELF!   AND regular dates with your husband.”

“But..”

“Take my hand, get a babysitter and jump off the cliff of separation…it’ll do you both good.”

“But!”

“No buts.”

“BUT!!”

“NO BUTS!”

At which point I pouted like a baby.

“And I’ll be checking.”

I have no doubt he will too.

See, the thing is, I need to get into better shape before I embarrass myself attending my public yoga class.  I know…it’s like cleaning before the maid comes, but it’s the way I operate.  I had been doing yoga for almost two years before I was pregnant with Mister…couldn’t attend during the pregnancy, and didn’t feel like it after.  I went back last fall, attended three classes, and hurt my neck.  (I pushed myself too hard out of shame, and got injured…dumbass.)  So I never went back, thinking I’d start up again gradually at home.  (Yeah, right!)  Now here I am, skinny, but pathetically out of shape. 

There is hope though.  Zan had Wii Fit delivered to our doorstep a week ago, hoping it would help him on his path to weight loss and fitness.  (I’m in mind of the nursery rhyme Jack Sprat.)  I think I love it more than he does!  So, I’ve begun a journey of a thousand miles with my first two steps.  And I’m signing up for yoga again…even though I refuse to leave Mister in that babysitting room at the YMCA.  It will have to be a night class.  And I just *might* be able to arrange a date with my husband…but it will have to be after Mister goes to bed the first couple of times.  You know, due to “the baby’s” separation anxiety and all.  😉

2 responses

  1. Zandic

    Wii Fit is terrific. I cant believe a video game is helping get us back on track best money I have ever spent. And I am shooting for about a 40 lb weight loss so this can only help me do it in a way that i am in better shape on the other side not just thinner but as lame.

    Good luck with the Yoga I’ll still kick your butt in the hoola hoops!!

    August 21, 2008 at 8:43 am

  2. Bring it on Hoola Hoop Boy!

    August 21, 2008 at 10:30 am

Leave a Reply

