A Phoenix Burning

I should never have bought those new lamps…

So I took down my living room curtains today to wash.  Hmmm…I kind of like the no curtain look.  I’ve been toying with the idea for awhile now.  If the woodwork were freshly painted, then it would be quite beautiful… but then if I paint the woodwork, the rest of the room will look as dingy as it is.  And you know, those wood blinds are not only outdated, but don’t work right.  Oooh….I just got a JCPenney sale catalogue and saw these really pretty roman shades in there!  But what color would I order???  Well…I don’t want to order a color that works with the present decor, since we want to paint sometime in the near future.  And I don’t really want to paint until we buy new furniture since I want it all to “go.”  Boy, this furniture is in need of some TLC…so I’ll take it apart today to wash that too….Uh, oh…seams are ripping, and stuffing is beginning to disintegrate.  But I really don’t want to buy new furniture until juice and milk spills are a thing of the past.  Hmmm…leather can be wiped clean with a damp cloth.  And it just so happens that I’ve been studying paint cards “just for fun.”  And Raymour and Flanigan is having a great sale…

Wait…

Now look through that living room window…see Zan installing the last railing on our deck?  See how hard he’s working while I sit here, hanging out with Baby Boy and the Girls in the air conditioned comfort of my outdated living room? 

I am ashamed of myself for conjuring more projects. 

So, furniture clean, and curtains washed, I will wait and work on that whole “being content” thing.  The porch comes first. 

Damn that Lowe’s!!  Trouble I tell ya…nothing but trouble.

3 responses

  1. karmardav

    Ha! Reminds me of me this past Christmas! A couple weeks before Christmas I decided it was time to paint the living room. But of course there was no point to keeping those dreary old curtains with a fresh coat of paint, and then I had to have a fancy new decorative curtain rod, and boy do those throw pillows look old and worn… I stopped at the pillows (for now!)

    July 13, 2008 at 7:08 pm

  2. Haha, that reminded me of the book “If you give a mouse a cookie” (or whatever it is, there’s a few in that series)
    New furniture is sooo much fun, and new paint on the walls, new curtains, new…. I need to win the lottery!

    July 13, 2008 at 7:27 pm

  3. Lowes is you downfall…this is mine. No worries…there is something to be said about desire. Man’s nature is to look forward to what we need rather than content with what we have. When ancients looked around and sighed content in the moment some danger would cut them dead. So blame evolutionary instinct.

    July 13, 2008 at 9:44 pm

Leave a Reply

