A Phoenix Burning

Pseudo Fini

So this is the point in a project where things can come to a standstill if you don’t push on.  You know…when something is almost finished…finished enough to be liveable, but the details aren’t all in?

Well, that’s where we are in the deck project.  All that’s left is the top railing, and the “something-to-block-off-underneath” work.  Can I just tell you how much I LOVE it already???!!!!  🙂

We have already spent a ton of time on it, and we christened it on Sunday with dinner with the neighbors.  Mister Baby Boy loves it because he can run around like a crazy man without being told “no” and bounce the basketball to his heart’s content.  He loves laying on the decking looking up into the tree…his newest trick is laying on his back, throwing a beach ball up and catching it…he laughs hysterically when he misses and it hits him in the face…he thinks that’s pretty hilarious for some reason.  *shakes*head* 

So I present to you the almost finished, totally lived on and enjoyed, deck.

Here’s my favorite spot…we have two of these…we had to move one under the front porch in case of rain…I accidentally bought the wrong sized cover for one.  *sigh*  Like I really wanted another reason to go to Lowe’s for the hundredth time! 

So, we obviously have a TONTONTONTON of cleanup to do…and real steps to build…and a railing to finish…and a bit more decorating to do…and a new grill to purchase…and a few flowers to make it colorful…but I am already in love!

And then it’s onto the next project.  The front porch.  DUN DUN DUNH!!!!!!!!

16 responses

  1. karmardav

    Looks awesome! Nice job!

    July 8, 2008 at 2:44 pm

  2. Zandic

    i am so glad that you love it. I *believed* in your vision for this project from day 1. Have no fear. We will finish it to complete that vision. This may now be the biggest open space in our entire home. I love the way baby boy runs from one end to the other. The ‘pad-pad-pad’ of his bare feet is a memory I will love forever. And I cannot forget how the girls lounge on it like they are at club med. Like they have no other care in the world and are awaiting their 3pm massage. Ah to be young, beautiful and bored… I thought it would be a highlight of our home but I had no Idea how much we would love it. PLUS the best part of all is now I get bragging rights. I BUILT A DECK. In the “man scale” this falls above taking a kick to the bullocks but below killing a bear with your bare hands. Not too f@#$ing bad.

    July 8, 2008 at 4:47 pm

  3. Well done guys…I love the tree within the deck deal…a true oasis. The fact that you are already capturing memories on this deck is terrific.

    Now, Zandic, can you build me a man? Get on that will ya!

    July 8, 2008 at 6:46 pm

  4. Ohh, that is GORGEOUS!!! Do you spend any time in the house anymore? I love your deck, and it looks huge!
    Zandic, will you come to my house and build me a deck like that? 😉

    July 8, 2008 at 8:00 pm

  5. Zandic

    F$%& Yea. I’ll build you both a deck BIGGER than this one. And if it rains I’ll build a bloody ARC and if gas prices bring the end to society as we know it I’ll build us a cabin in the woods where we will all garden, raise animals and live together to protect each other and remember fondly of this thing we used to call a “Blog”.

    July 8, 2008 at 10:28 pm

  6. Shrew doesn’t want a deck…she wants a d….I mean, man. 😉

    Thanks Daily..it IS huge! It’s about 22′ by 21′. Much bigger than it looked when it was staked out. We have been out there a LOT. The kids love it even more than we do. Big Girl is reading more just because she has a neat place to sit.

    July 8, 2008 at 10:35 pm

  7. zandic

    Men are a dime a dozen she just needs a dime and she can make her pick from the 12.

    July 9, 2008 at 9:59 am

  8. *Holding dime*

    Where? Where are they?

    July 9, 2008 at 11:24 am

  9. The deck looks great. I really like the Dekorator balustrade. I have done a few of those myself. I thought you may be interested in checking out a post/podcast The Handyguys did on deck maintenance. Its at
    http://www.handyguyspodcast.com/66/episode-10-decks-woods-and-refinishing

    The Main site is http://www.handyguyspodcast.com/

    The Handyguys also take and answer DIY questions. Feel free to drop in with questions and don’t forget to listen to our show.

    The Handyguys

    July 9, 2008 at 12:16 pm

  10. Awesome, awesome. Decks are FANTASTIC, aren’t they? We just purchased a new outdoor table/chairs with umbrella on July 4th and I beam with pride every time I look out of the LR window. We sit, listen to music and even Mini-DD spends time with us out on “the deck”.

    Yours, is beee-you-tee-full! Great job, Z.

    July 9, 2008 at 1:08 pm

  11. Wow Handyguy!! Thanks so much! I LOVE your site, and I know my very own “handyguy” will too. In fact, I’m going to add you to my blogroll. What a wealth of information! Thank you thank you. And stop back in anytime…As I mentioned, the wrap-around front porch is next. We have “bird issues.”

    July 9, 2008 at 1:17 pm

  12. bird issues – me too, I get them behind my shutters. Ask your question on our site and maybe we will discuss some ideas on a future show. The way we work is we answer every question we get as soon as possible. We then pick questions to discuss on the weekly podcast.

    Take care
    The Handyguys

    July 9, 2008 at 1:26 pm

  13. Hey Handyguy:

    Is it true what Zan says about a dime?

    ShrewbieSingleDoobie

    July 9, 2008 at 2:03 pm

  14. Anywho

    Hey, I am finally responding instead of just reading. AMAZING!!!!! A whole new world for Baby Boy, yet reduced stress levels for Mama. Great job Zan, and KD!!!!!!

    July 9, 2008 at 4:16 pm

  15. YAY!!! Anywho is here!!!! 🙂 (My dearest friend on the planet…next to Zan of course!) Can’t wait to have the Anywhos over for a cookout! Just let me get that new grill first…sooner than later since Lowe’s is having a sale (I just happened to notice today when I was there!) lol

    July 9, 2008 at 7:28 pm

  16. That is just gorgeous. It really adds to the Feng Shui energy of the outdoor setting as well as helps to keep nature the focal point of the space. What a lovely idea and what lovely work.

    July 14, 2008 at 12:41 pm

Leave a Reply

