A Phoenix Burning

Stuck in the 80’s

Okay, so I found this over at this site

Re-posting it here.  Have fun! 

(Note: Red highlights note the ‘guesses’ from the comments.)

P.S.  Okay, so you’ve noticed the numbers got messed up???  Well, thank Mr. Baby Boy’s little button pushing fingers for that.  He pushed a button, and did something at some point, but I couldn’t figure out what he did.  Turns out he somehow moved Dire Straits from 95 to 37, messing up all the numbers following it!  *sigh*  So, I think the list is accurate now, although it doesn’t necessarily match the comment numbers.  Sorry!  Carry on!!

**  I’m ending your pain!  Those in blue were the only one’s you didn’t get.  I looked up the answers.**

Well done!!!


  1. And she’s lovin him with that body I just know it (“Jessie’s Girl”-Daily)
  2. I’m on the hunt, I’m after you (“Hungry Like the Wolf”-Shrew)
  3. Who needs a heart when a heart can be broken? (“What’s Love Got to Do with it?”-Daily)
  4. Let me tell you ’bout the girl I met last night (“High on You”-jenfera)
  5. Well I like takin off, don’t like burnin out, every time you turn it on, makes me wanna shout (“Cool the Engines”-Music Maven)
  6. Buying bread from a man in Brussels, he was 6 foot 4 and full a muscles (“Down Under”-jenfera)
  7. With every breath I’m deeper into you (“Crazy for You”-jenfera)
  8. Distant eyes, losin ground I’m reachin for you, you, you (“Separate Ways”-jenfera)
  9. Music does the talkin, says the things you wanna hear (“Magic Power”-Zan)
  10. And I’ve never been a loser and I just can’t lose tonight (“Winning It All”-The Outfield)
  11. I’m gonna buy me a one way ticket, nothin’s gonna hold me back. Your love’s like a slow train comin and I can feel it comin down the track- whoah (“When the Going Gets Tough”-Music Maven)
  12. At this moment, you mean everything! (Come on Eileen”-jenfera)
  13. tried my imagination, but I was disturbed (“867-5309 Jenny”-jenfera & Zan)
  14. Making love to you was never second best (“I’ll Stop the World and Melt with You”-Shrew)
  15. I’ve got to, run away from the pain you drive into the heart of me (“Tainted Love”-jenfera)
  16. So wild, so free, So far from me. You’re all I want, my fantasy (“Photograph”-Zan)
  17. If you got the money honey we got your disease (“Welcome to the Jungle”-Zan)
  18. And mama always told me be careful what you do, don’t go around breaking young girls’ hearts (“Billie Jean”-jenfera & Zan)
  19. My baby may not be rich, he’s watchin every dime (“Let’s Hear it for the Boy”-Daily)
  20. Take your-passion, and make it happen (“What a Feeling [Flashdance]”-Daily)
  21. I think they got the alias, that you been livin under (“Gloria”-jenfera)
  22. had a premonition that he shouldn’t of gone alone (“Smuggler’s Blues”-Music Maven)
  23. And when the night is cold and dark, you can’t see you can’t see light (“Never Surrender”-Ivory)
  24. Don’t drink, Don’t smoke, what do ya do? (“Goody Two Shoes”-Shrew)
  25. Don’t wanna be a girl like that, do you wanna see a grown man cry? (“Naughty Naughty”-karmardav)
  26. Somebodies callin after somebody, somebody turns the corner out of sight. Lookin for somebody, somewhere in the night (“Tender is the Night”-Music Maven)
  27. A week without you, but I forget, two weeks without you and I still haven’t gotten over you yet (“Vacation”-jenfera & Zan)
  28. Strange voices are saying, ah what did they say? Things. I can’t understand (“Cruel Summer”-jenfera)
  29. Been workin, so hard. I’m punchin, my card (“Footloose”-Daily)
  30. I know just how to whisper, and I know Just how to cry (“Making Love out of Nothing at All”-Daily)
  31. I was a high school loser never made it with a lady ’til the boys told me somethin I missed (“Walk this Way”-jenfera & Zan)
  32. I knew right from the beginning, that you would end up winnin’, I knew right from the start, you’d put an arrow through my heart (“Round and Round”-Zan)
  33. You got to roll with the punches to get to what’s real (“Jump”-jenfera)
  34. Just a look at that girl with the lights comin up in her eyes (“Somebody’s Baby”-Ivory)
  35. It’s gonna take a lot to drag me away from you, it’s nothing that a hundred men or more could ever do (“Africa”-Daily)
  36. And heart to heart you win, if ya survive (“The Warrior”-jenfera & Zan)
  37. Play the guitar on the MTV (“Money for Nothing”-Shrew & jenfera & Zan)
  38. So when you call up that shrink in Beverly Hills, you know the one, Dr. everything be all right (“Let’s Go Crazy”-Zan)
  39. Tin roof…… Rusted (“Love Shack”-jenfera & Zan)
  40. You’re givin me the chills baby please baby don’t (“Hey, Mickey”-Zan)
  41. I knew he must a been about seventeen (“I Love Rock and Roll”-Zan)
  42. With the touch of a velvet glove (“Abracadabra”-karmardav)
  43. It’s just another Sunday, in a tired old street (“We Built this City”-Daily)
  44. Slight of hand and a twist of fate, on a bed of nails she makes me wait (“With or Without You”-jenfera & Zan)
  45. She’s so fine, she’s all mine, the girl is all right! (“Superfreak”-jenfera)
  46. Your feet are going to be on the ground, your head is there to move you around (“Stand”-jenfera)
  47. Oceans apart, day after day, and I slowly go insane (Right Here Waiting for You”-Daily)
  48. Guess I should a known by the way you parked your car sideways that it wouldn’t last (“Little Red Corvette”-kanni)
  49. You’re all the things I’ve got to remember (“Take on Me”-Daily)
  50. I need some company, a guardian angel, to keep me warm when the cold winds blow (“Take Me Home Tonight”-jenfera)
  51. Your very first kiss was your first kiss goodbye (“You Give Love a Bad Name”-kanni)
  52. So many times, it happens too fast, you trade your passion for glory (“Eye of the Tiger”-Daily)
  53. Nations go to war over women like you, it’s just a form of appreciation (“Strut”-jenfera)
  54. Before I put another notch in my lipstick case You better make sure you put me in my place! (“Hit Me with your Best Shot”-Zan)
  55. You tell me that you want me, you tell me that you need me, you tell me that you love me, and I know that I’m right cause I hear it in the night. (“Talking in your Sleep”-kanni & jenfera)
  56. I got a picture of you- ahh-ha-ahh-ha-ah-ah woh-oh-woh-oh (“Back on the Chain Gang”-[The Pretenders]-Zan)
  57. I, I was standing, you were there (“Never Tear Us Apart”-jenfera)
  58. Every claim you stake I’ll be watching you (“Every Breath You Take”-Daily and Shrew & Zan)
  59. Shoot me like a rocket into space! (“Lovin’ Every Minute of It”-Loverboy)
  60. This is the world we live in, and these are the hands were given (“Land of Confusion”-Zan)
  61. Don’t wish it away, don’t look at it like this forever (“Guess That’s Why They Call it the Blues”-kanni)
  62. And even though I wander, I’m keepin you in sight, you’re a candle in the wind on a cold dark winters night (“Can’t Fight this Feeling”-Daily)
  63. If you say goodbye to me tonight, there will still be music left to write (“For the Longest Time”-Ivory)
  64. Oh yeah I, just wanna watch the girls go by (“Summertime Girls”-Y & T)  *huh*???  Anyone know this song??
  65. I’ll be alone, dancin, you know it baby (“Don’t You Forget About Me”-Zan)
  66. And you may say to yourself, My god, what have I done? (“Watching the Days Go By”-Zan)
  67. Scratches his head and does his best James Dean (“Jack & Diane”-Shrew & Zan)
  68. Oh thikin about all our younger years, it was only you and me, we were young and wild and free (“Heaven”-Daily)
  69. Like a knight in shining armor, from a long time ago (“Glory of Love”-Daily)
  70. Stop walking down my street. Who do you expect to meet? (“Don’t Come Around Here No More”-Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers)
  71. I’ve been meaning to tell you, I’ve got this feeling that won’t subside (“Hungry Eyes”-Daily)
  72. Let the children’s laughter remind us how we used to be (“The Greatest Love of All”-Daily)
  73. I had a friend was a big baseball player, back in high (“Glory Days”-jenfera)
  74. See yourself, give your freewill a chance, you’ve got to work to succeed (“Owner of a Lonely Heart”-Zan)
  75. One likes to believe in the freedom of music (“Spirit of Radio”-RUSH)  *Zan had the artist*
  76. Heirs of the cold war, tbat’s what we’ve become. Inherited troubles, I’m mentally numb. (“Crazy Train”-Ozzy Osbourne)
  77. Kid can’t read at seventeen, the words he knows are all obscene but, it’s all right (“Touch of Gray”-karmardav)
  78. Sailed away to China, in a little row boat to find ya, you said you had to get your laundry done (“Break My Stride”-jenfera)
  79. I never believed in things that I couldn’t see, I said if I can feel it, how could it be (“You Can Do Magic”-Music Maven)
  80. Don’t take money, don’t take fame, don’t need no credit card to ride this train (“The Power of Love”-Daily)
  81. The school bell rings, you know it’s my cue, I’m gonna meet the boys on floor number two (“Smokin’ in the Boys’ Room”-Shrew)
  82. I never meant to be so bad to you. One thing I said that I would never do (“Heat of the Moment”-Daily)
  83. Put me in coach, I’m ready to play, today (“Centerfield”-Shrew)
  84. Just like the white wing dove sings a song, sounds like she’s singing (“Edge of Seventeen”-Shrew)
  85. So let’s sink another drink, cause it’ll give me time to think
  86. I need fifty dollars to make you holler (“Wild Thing”-Zan)
  87. I said mom this shirt is plaid with a butterfly collar (“Parents Just Don’t Understand”-jenfera)
  88. Now every time I go for the mailbox, gotta hold myself down (“Walking on Sunshine”-jenfera)
  89. Can make it, I know I can. You broke the boy in me, but you won’t break the man
  90. And the best thing you’ve ever done for me is to help me take my life less seriously, it’s only life after all (“Closer to Fine”-Ivory)
  91. I’ve had the blues, the reds and the pinks (“Love Stinks”-Zan)
  92. At night I wake up with the sheets soaking wet and a freight train running through the middle of my head (“I’m on Fire”-Daily)
  93. I’m lying in the rain, but I never wave bye bye, but I try (“Modern Love”-jenfera)
  94. Don’t want no Captain Crunch don’t want no raisin bran (“Eat It”-Weird Al Yankovic)
  95. I can See the sun in Win-ter-time
  96. Every time I think of you, I always catch my breath (“Missing You”-Daily)
  97. And then the conversation turned, until the sun went down (“Fascination”-jenfera)
  98. Who’s gonna block your ears, when you scream? (“Drive”-Daily)
  99. Listen up everybody if you wanna take a chance (“Hangin’ Tough”-New Kids on the Block)  *I’m so proud of all of you for NOT knowing this one!*
  100. I touch you once, I touch you twice (“If You Leave”-Daily)
  101. All the cops in the donut Shop say way-o way-o (“Walk Like an Egyptian”-Shrew)
  102. You are so hard to read, you play hide n seek with your true intentions
  103. She stepped off the bus, out into the City street (“Fallen Angel”-Zan)
  104. You do the boom boom into lay heart, You set my soul sky high when your lovin starts (“Wake Me Up Before You Go Go”-jenfera)
  105. You want a Piece of my heart, you better start from the start. You wanna be in the show, come on baby lets go! (“Everybody’s Working for the Weekend”-Daily)
  106. I think of you and let it go (“99 Luftballons”-jenfera)
  107. I’ll be back when I found my fears, and I’ll see you again in a thousand years (“Love’s Been a Little Bit Hard on Me”-Music Maven)
  108. I can wait another day, until I call you (“No More Lonely Nights”-Ivory)
  109. When I’m lost at sea, I hear your voice and it carries me (“Heaven is a Place on Earth”-jenfera)
  110. Another kiss, and you’ll be mine, one track mind! (“Addicted to Love”-Ivory)
  111. If you want to taste my kisses in the night then, (“Jump for My Love”-Ivory)
  112. I was born to love you, but I will never be free, you’ll always be a part of me (“Always Something There to Remind Me”-jenfera)
  113. There doesn’t seem to be anyone around (“I Think We’re Alone Now”-Daily)
  114. Speed so fast, felt like I was drunk (“Fast Car”-jenfera)
  115. They see your every move (“Private Eyes”-Daily)
  116. No chocolate covered candy hearts to give away (“I Just Called to Say I Love You”-Daily)
  117. An invisible man sleepin’ in your bed…(“Ghostbusters”-Daily)
  118. The moon. Beautiful. The sun. Even more beautiful (“Oh, Yeah”-Yello)  *Zan had the right idea…but no title or band…no credit!!*  HA
  119. It’s poetry in motion when she turned her eyes to me (“She Blinded Me with Science”-Shrew)
  120. Loving would be easy if your colors were like my dream
  121. The phone rings in the middle of the night, my father yells, ‘what you gonna do with your life?’ (“Girls Just Want to Have Fun”-Shrew)
  122. Some of the want to use you. Some of them want to get used by you. (“Sweet Dreams”-Shrew & Daily)
  123. By order of the prophet, we ban that boogie sound.
  124. I know a guy who’s tough but sweet. He’s so fine, he can’t be beat. (“I Want Candy”-Shrew)

32 responses

  1. Wow, this is hard! I can hear the songs in my head, but can’t think of the title! LOL Are you looking for us to post our answers?
    Here are some of mine…
    1. Jessie’s girl
    3. What’s love got to do with it
    19. Let’s hear it for the boy
    29. Footloose
    30. Making love out of nothing at all
    35. Africa
    48. Right here waiting for you
    59. Every breath you take
    63. Can’t fight this feeling (?)
    69. Heaven
    72. Hungry eyes
    73. The greatest love of all
    81. The power of love
    90. St. Elmo’s fire
    97. Missing you
    99. Drive
    123. Sweet dreams were made of this

    May 29, 2008 at 12:52 pm

  2. It is hard isn’t it?!
    This game is best played with a bunch of close 80’s generation friends over a bottle (or two) of wine! lol 😉

    May 29, 2008 at 1:59 pm

  3. Adding to Daily Click…

    2. Hungry Like A Wolf
    6. Who can it be now
    14. I’ll stop the world and melt with you
    24. Goody Two Shoes
    29. I had “workin’ for the weekend”
    46. Safety Dance
    55. Hit me With Your best Shot
    59. Everybreath You Take
    68. Jack and Diane
    81. Electric Avenue (?)
    82. Smokin’ In The Boys room
    84. Centerfield
    85. Edge of Seventeen
    89. Walking On Sunshine
    95. Money for nothing
    102. Walk Like an Egyptian
    120. She Blinded Me With Science
    122. Girls just Want to Have Fun
    123. Sweet Dreams
    125. I Want Candy

    Whew. And I’m Spent!

    May 29, 2008 at 2:21 pm

  4. 20. What a feeling (from Flashdance)!!

    May 29, 2008 at 5:21 pm

  5. 11. When the going gets tough, the tough get going
    47. Right here waiting for you
    52. Eye of the tiger
    Oops, 62 (not 63) was supposed to be Can’t fight this feeling
    69. Glory of love
    80. Power of love
    82. Heat of the moment
    Ugh. 96 (not 97) is Missing you. (I swear I haven’t been drinking! LOL)
    98 (not 99) is Drive
    100. If you leave
    115. Private eyes
    116. I just called to say I love you
    122 (not 123) Sweet dreams

    May 29, 2008 at 5:51 pm

  6. LOL!!! I wasn’t able to double check since I was editing in highlights while trying to keep my fifteen month old away from the keyboard, cooking dinner, and helping my birthday girl with homework—on the laptop with no mouse, just one of those annoying toggle button thingies!
    I will go back and fix the list later….

    Glad you’re having such fun with this Daily! You’ve been obsessing over these lyrics all day, haven’t you! 😉

    May 29, 2008 at 6:10 pm

  7. No, not really…. just when I come here to see if anyone else got any of the answers LOL
    But it’s good to know that I at least remember SOME things at my old age 😉

    May 29, 2008 at 6:23 pm

  8. Yeah I was gunna say some of my correct guesses are NOT red!

    May 29, 2008 at 6:32 pm

  9. 7. Crazy for You – Madonna
    12. Come On Eileen – Dexy’s Midnight Runners
    13. 867-5309 Jenny – Tommy Tutone
    15. Tainted Love – Soft Cell
    18. Billie Jean – Michael Jackson
    21. Gloria – Laura Brannigan
    27. Vacation – The Go-Go’s
    28. Cruel Summer – Bananarama
    31. Walk This Way – Run DMC
    33. Jump – Van Halen
    36. The Warrior (can’t remember the artist!)
    37. Money For Nothing – Dire Straits
    39. Love Shack – B-52’s
    44. With or Without You – U2

    May 29, 2008 at 8:05 pm

  10. Oh, hey! I hit enter!

    This is fun… here comes more!

    45. Superfreak – Rick James
    46 is not Safety Dance, there, shrewbie. It’s Stand by REM.
    Oh, and 48 isn’t right here waiting, it’s Little Red Corvette by Prince.

    Holy crap, my brain is littered with all this stuff! (I swear, I am not looking any of this up. It is just there in my head!)

    50. Take Me Home Tonight – Eddie Money
    51 is Bon Jovi but I can’t remember which one, darn it!
    53. Strut – Sheena Easton
    55. Talking in your Sleep – The Romantics
    57. Never Tear Us Apart – INXS

    Okay, I think I need to stop for now. My brain is gonna short circuit soon!

    May 29, 2008 at 8:35 pm

  11. zandic

    I will work on the first 75
    9 Magic Power Triumph
    13 Jenny Jenny (8675309 ) Tommy Tutone
    18 Billie Jean – Mikel Jakkson
    27 Vacation –
    31 Walk this Way – Aerosmith
    32 Round and Round
    33 Van Halen
    36 I am the Warrior
    37 Money for Nothing – Dire Straits
    38 Lets go Crazy Prince
    39 Love Shack – B52’s
    40 Hey Mickey
    44 With or Without you – U2
    54 Hit me with your best shot
    58 Every breath you take
    60 Land of confusion – Phil Collins
    62 Keep on Lovin you – REO speedwagon
    65 Don’t you Forget about me
    67 Jack and Diane – Melloncamp
    74 Owner of a Lonely Heart – YES

    May 29, 2008 at 8:59 pm

  12. Wait look at Zan wrecking the curve with the band names

    May 29, 2008 at 10:11 pm

  13. Oooh and Jen too

    May 29, 2008 at 10:11 pm

  14. I woke up this morning with more answers in my head!

    4. High On You – Survivor
    And, I remembered Land of Confusion but Zan got to it before I did! THat was that Genesis video with all those scary puppets.

    May 30, 2008 at 6:12 am

  15. You forgot 11 (When the going gets tough, the tough get going) or did I get it wrong?
    43. We built this city
    49. Take on me
    71. Hungry Eyes
    72. The greatest love of all
    92. I’m on fire
    105. Working for the week-end
    113. I think we’re alone now
    117. Ghostbusters

    May 30, 2008 at 6:39 am

  16. Finally feeling a little better and able to amble over to the computer, and find that I missed the game! Can I still play?

    4. High On You
    23. Never Surrender – Corey Hart
    63. For the Longest Time – Billy Joel
    71. Hungry Eyes – Eric Carmen

    This is fun! Need to take a break though. Be back later!

    May 30, 2008 at 7:49 am

  17. Keep ’em comin’!!! I’m off to a school thing today, so I don’t have time to update the list this morning…carry on though, and I will update later on this afternoon!
    Daily…you are right on #11. I just missed it. Sorry! 😉

    May 30, 2008 at 8:26 am

  18. Where is MusicMAven…she is a wiz with lyrics!

    May 30, 2008 at 8:32 am

  19. breaking my own no comments at work rule to chime in with more (sorry – haven’t checked to see if anyone got these yet…)

    78. Break My Stride
    87. Parents Just Don’t Understand – DJ Jazzy Jeff & Fresh Prince (who? ha ha!)
    88. Walking on Sunshine – Katrina & The Waves
    92. I’m On Fire – Springsteen
    93. Modern Love – David Bowie
    97. Fascination – Human League
    104. Wake Me Up Before You Go Go – Wham!
    105. Working for the Weekend – Loverboy
    106. 99 Luftbalons – Nena
    109. Heaven Is A Place on Earth – Belinda Carlisle
    112. Always Something There To Remind Me – Naked Eyes
    113. I Think We’re Alone Now – Tiffany
    114. Fast Car – Tracy Chapman

    May 30, 2008 at 9:25 am

  20. Okay, continuing now (haven’t seen any of the other responses yet – want to see if I can come up with the titles myself)

    72. Greatest Love Of All – Whitney Houston (is she the original?)
    88. Walking On Sunshine – Katrina & The Waves
    92. I’m On Fire – Bruce Springsteen (song close to my heart :))
    104. Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go – Wham!
    110. Addicted To Love – Robert Palmer
    111. Jump (For My Love) – The Pointer Sisters?
    112. Always Something There To Remind Me – Naked Eyes
    113. I Think We’re Alone Now – Tiffany
    114. Fast Car – Tracy Chapman (love her!)

    The few unanswered ones left are vaguely familiar. Maybe some will come to mind as my brain starts getting back to normal.

    May 30, 2008 at 12:26 pm

  21. Aha!

    108. No More Lonely Nights – Paul McCartney

    May 30, 2008 at 12:28 pm

  22. 8. Separate Ways – Journey

    6 is actually Down Under by Men at Work, not Who Can It Be Now

    73. Glory Days – Springsteen

    May 30, 2008 at 1:17 pm

  23. 61. Don’t Dream It’s Over – Crowded House

    May 30, 2008 at 1:18 pm

  24. zandic

    41 I love rock and roll – joan jett
    66 Watchin the day’s go by – Talking Heads
    71 Hungry Eyes – Marx
    78 Culture Club – gotta keep on movin
    86 Wild thing – ton loc
    88 Walkin on sunshine
    91 Love Stinks
    93 Modern love – bowie
    103 poison – Fallen Angel
    104 wham wake me up before you go go
    105 workin for the weekend
    110 Addicted to Love
    111 Jump for my love

    May 30, 2008 at 1:19 pm

  25. Okay I have 3 to contribute to the unnamed ones:
    25. Naughty Naughty by John Parr
    42. Abracadabra by Steve Miller Band
    77. Touch of Gray by the Grateful Dead

    May 30, 2008 at 4:31 pm

  26. My contributions:

    5. Cool the Engines – Boston
    11. When the Going Gets Tough – Billy Ocean
    22. Smuggler’s Blues – Glen Frey
    26. Tender is the Night – Jackson Browne
    79. You Can Do Magic – America
    107. Loves Been a Little Bit Hard on Me – Juice Newton

    May 30, 2008 at 5:27 pm

  27. WOW!! Only 14 left friends! GOGOGOGO!!!

    🙂

    I hope I haven’t missed any…please let me know if I have.

    May 30, 2008 at 7:02 pm

  28. I give up. I’m totally stumped on the rest. LOL

    May 30, 2008 at 8:56 pm

  29. zandic

    16. Photograph – Def Leapard
    17. Welcome to the Jungle – Gunz and Rozez
    56 Chain gang? – Pat Benetar
    75 I can hear geddy lee saying it. So it is RUSH. Not sure which song….
    118 is that ferris beuler song . that goes BOM BOM chick a chicka

    Without a hint this is all I have. Anyone remember the Rush song on 75?

    May 30, 2008 at 11:44 pm

  30. Yay! Thought of one!

    34 Somebody’s Baby – Jackson Browne

    Zan, if that was a rush song on I-95, you’d probably know it well, eh? 🙂

    May 31, 2008 at 11:18 am

  31. Okay…and I am spent

    June 1, 2008 at 5:10 pm

  32. One more, ’cause I heard it over the weekend on my iPod:

    90. Closer To Fine – Indigo Girls

    And now I will be joining Shrew in the spent corner. I hope she has some red wine there.

    June 2, 2008 at 7:42 am

Leave a Reply

