A Phoenix Burning

Get ready, get set, EAT!

Okay, so since it’s a “very special American Idol” night, I was thinking I need to make some yummy something to go with the occasion.  And since my favorite is, of course, David Cook, cook-ing seems appropos, no?

The problem is, I need suggestions!  So have at it.  Have a great idea?  Something simple, and simply yummy?  Let me know. 

And since we’re on the subject of American Idol….

Shrewbie Doobie Doo happened to mention that I’ve been strangely quiet on the whole Taylor Hicks Teen Angel subject.  She is absolutely correct that I am strange!  I have also been quiet on the topic.  The reason?  I haven’t known what to say. 

I want more for him.  I want the best opportunities for him.  I want music for him…REAL music, not “Beauty School Drop-Out.”  I want an audience for him that appreciates his roots and his talent the way I do…not an audience that comes to see the spectacle.  I want recognition for him…not the “see I told you Daughtry should’ve won” recognition, but the, “Dang!  They were right after all!” recognition.  I don’t know…it just seems a bit far from where he’s come, and hopefully far from where he’s going.  For the record, I felt the same way about the book.  (And no I haven’t read it so I won’t comment on the quality of the book.)  I just felt it was a left hand turn off the road of focused artistry, and this seems another one.  So, I guess what I feel is disappointment…the same disappointment I have felt with my students who choose not to exercise a God given talent and opportunity.  It’s his path to choose, and I will continue to look forward to the next album.  Hopefully I will be able to say, “Wow!  He knew what he was doing after all!” 

Addendum:  For a more in depth discussion, head on over to Music Maven’s place.

5 responses

  1. Last night, the hubby made a wicked hibachi steak and noodles dish that was out of this world. Really easy to make, too. Plus, it’s a dish easy to eat in front of the tv, with one hand holding the plate and the other hand brandishing either a fork or (my choice) a pair of chopsticks.

    And on the Teen Angel front: Amen to that.

    May 20, 2008 at 10:35 am

  2. Well said, KD. I think you captured what a lot of Taylor supporters feel.

    As for cookin’, how about good old Sloppy Joes…open faced….with CHEESE, lots of cheese. 🙂

    May 20, 2008 at 11:31 am

  3. See…I went with store roasted chicken over sauteed spinach

    May 20, 2008 at 4:08 pm

  4. I lied…went with pizza

    May 20, 2008 at 4:14 pm

  5. I loved all your ideas! I’m sorry to say I couldn’t do any of them. Little Girl is still very sick, so time is a bit short. I opted for spaghetti for dinner with leftover sauce from the freezer, then ran to the store for popcorn and ice cream to make milkshakes during the David Squared extravaganza.

    May 20, 2008 at 5:15 pm

Leave a Reply

