A Phoenix Burning

Do yourself a favor…

So, when’s the last time you had a Root Beer Float?  Seriously.  Ages ago, right?  Do yourself a favor, and run out to the store and buy yourself a two liter bottle of root beer and a half gallon of cheap vanilla ice cream, and go whole hog tonight.  I’ll bet you’ve forgotten how good one of these tastes…I know I did.

I ordered one in Disney, while the girls crinkled their noses at my choice.  I forced them to try it, and now they want one every night for dessert.  Yummy!

The Recipe:

Get the tallest glass you can find.

Fill it halfway with root beer.

Cram as much vanilla ice cream into the glass as you possibly can.  (Foam-over is completely acceptable, and lickable.)

Gorge yourself until you’re sick.

Any questions?

8 responses

  1. Ick, root beer!! But, if you need an excuse to have a second one, feel free to make one for me and then tell everyone that I didn’t like it and you didn’t want it to go to waste 😉

    April 29, 2008 at 2:09 pm

  2. You have your float and I will have my waffel bowl, coconut ice cream smothered in chocolate sauce.

    KD…do you have yahoo chat?

    April 29, 2008 at 3:44 pm

  3. You have your float and I will have my waffel bowl, coconut ice cream smothered in chocolate sauce.

    KD…do you have yahoo chat?

    April 29, 2008 at 3:45 pm

  4. Yeah, what Shrew said…twice.

    Um, I have very fond memories of my mother treated us to RB floats as a kid, when she made homeade root beer. Now, by “beer” of choice is Diet Barq’s. I love Diet IBC but it’s much more expensive. Diet Barq’s is DA BOMB!! But I bet’s it’s better with Coconut Ice Cream. 🙂

    April 29, 2008 at 4:22 pm

  5. Okay, y’all are killin’ me!!!! 😉
    I’m all about the chocolate smothered ice cream, waffle cone and all that good stuff. Usually that’s all I get, so I went out on a limb and did the float thing…I think because I was so thirsty. And it was just so YUM!!!!!! I swear y’all should try it……it’ll be better than you remember, mark my words! lol
    And if you don’t like root beer *PSHAW* 😉 Coke floats are good too….I’ll bet orange Crush would be even better!

    Now DD…I’ve gotta ask, DIET??? WHY?

    Shrewbie…I don’t *think* I have yahoo chat, do I? If not, I need to get it. I miss you guys.

    April 29, 2008 at 6:19 pm

  6. KD – go to yahoo.com and download their instant messenger. Sometimes we get a good little group going on Tuesday and Wednesday nights making fun of Idol in real time.

    I LOVE root beer floats! I discovered the best root beer in Maine a summer or two ago – Captain Eli’s. It’s made with real sugar instead of high fructose corn syrup. Although A&W or Hires will do in a pinch. Way better than Barq’s – sorry maven!
    😉

    April 29, 2008 at 6:32 pm

  7. Did you say chocolate? I recently discovered Dove ice cream at our grocery store and since Dove is my favorite “cheap” chocolate, I couldn’t resist. This is soooooo good!! (Hopefully the link will work)
    http://www.dovechocolate.com/Collection/DoveIceCream/Tubs.aspx?PageID=338&ProductID=7

    April 30, 2008 at 5:46 am

  8. Okay, so now I’m signed up. What next?
    And A&W is THE BEST!!
    That ice cream is on my list…right under the mango chow ingredients! 🙂

    April 30, 2008 at 1:07 pm

Leave a Reply

