A Phoenix Burning

What Makes Disney Disney

It was very interesting to go to Disneyworld with a fairly newborn photographer’s eye. 

I realized how much I have learned…if nothing else, I’ve learned to see.

I remember years ago, taking five rolls of film…most of it was scenes…cluttered scenes.  Later, I remember saying, “I took way too many pictures of ‘stuff’…won’t do that again.”  We went again years later and I only took photos of loved ones in various locations.  Although I hold some of those photos dear, many didn’t capture their essences. 

This time, I took lots of photos of loved ones, as well as many, many, many photos of “stuff.”  But they were deliberate, and the subjects are more clearly defined. 

I found myself in awe of the details…these are what separate Disney properties from other amusement parks.  The architectural detail is quite amazing.  And for some reason, I was drawn to photographing the lights around the various parks.  Why?  I’m not sure—but I noticed them…saw them.  I don’t think I had ever noticed them before. 

So here I will give you a sampling of the details that caught my eye over the nine days we spent there.  If you’d like to see more, check out my flickr———–> 

(There was a birds’ nest in the next one.)

And finally, here’s me in Mickey’s mirror.  🙂

Yep, that\'s me...in Mickey\'s mirror.

 

9 responses

  1. Wonderful pictures! I love the last one, too cute!
    Isn’t it amazing how much more you are aware of as a photographer?

    April 22, 2008 at 11:04 am

  2. Oh you’ve got me wanting to go back now – my crew and I went about 3 years ago and I took the “usual” pictures too – loved ones in fun places with fun characters. I did get lucky enough, however, to get to Epcot during their flower and garden festival (fabulous, of course) and take some beauties there. I’d do it differently still though if I had the chance to do it again. The one in the Mickey mirror is especially great!

    April 22, 2008 at 12:57 pm

  3. karmardav, the flower and garden festival was spectacular! I’ll be sharing those shots in the days to come. 😉

    April 22, 2008 at 1:06 pm

  4. KD,
    I have to say that you captured the exact essence of Disney. If you read about the genius of Walt Disney and his vision, it was all about details. Down to the last rose petal and hem on Snow White’s dress.

    I particularly like the door photo. It’s like inviting me to open it and enter into the enchantment that is Disney.

    Wonderful.

    DD

    April 22, 2008 at 1:12 pm

  5. “I have to say that you captured the exact essence of Disney.”

    Thank you so much DD! I am so pleased that you think so!

    I think Walt Disney was brilliant, and I am so impressed that the corporation of Disney has maintained his legacy and vision despite the fact that he has “moved on.” So often, the larger a corporation gets, the farther away they move from the vision that gave birth to them in the first place. It’s disheartening. So to see a coporation as large as this one maintain the level of perfection that they do is astounding, and a breath of fresh air. What a great man Walt must have been, to command the amount of respect that has been shown him in continuing what he started all those years ago.

    April 22, 2008 at 6:11 pm

  6. Much of maintaining that legacy had to do with his brother, Roy, staying involved until a few years ago, I believe. It goes to show that if you treat people well and have them understand and “buy-in” to a good concept that also treats people well, it thrives and survives.

    Disney understands that if they create a great experience for you and yours, that you’ll likely be back 3-5 more times over your lifetime, at several thousand dollars a pop.

    Great, great business concept.

    April 22, 2008 at 9:46 pm

  7. Absolutely!
    I can’t believe that more businesses don’t operate this way. They have everything down to a science—well rehearsed and well choreographed, right down to the rope lines leading out of the park at the end of the day, herding the masses efficiently to the transportation.
    It’s the little things…they somehow manage to make everyone feel special. (I will be posting a couple of stories later in the week to demonstrate.)
    I laughed telling Zan about leaving the park with the girls after fireworks…I was so excited over the “sendoff.” They had about eight cast members standing on a walkway above the exit, all holding signs and hooting and hollering, yelling, “See ya real soon!” I mean, come on!! How cool is that??!! LOL They seem silly, but those are the things that goofy people like me LOVE, and keep me coming back.

    April 22, 2008 at 11:01 pm

  8. P.S. When I retire, I want that job!

    April 22, 2008 at 11:02 pm

  9. My ex-brother-in-law worked for Disney for YEARS and absolutely loved it!! (And how nice it was to get free tickets!! 😉 ). As far as I know, his sister still works there, at one of the resorts.

    April 23, 2008 at 1:33 pm

Leave a Reply

