A Phoenix Burning

Curse of the Teletubby

Okay, so, way back when in Once Upon a Time time, we were given a teeny little Teletubby as a hand-me-down toy to Little Girl 1.  Little Girl 1 didn’t really like said Teletubby, and we were glad.

Four years later, Little Girl 2 was born.  At about 13 months old, Little Girl 2 discovered this little red Teletubby in the basket of hand-me-down toys, and she picked it up, kissed it, tucked it into her neck like a phone, and carried it around with her all the day long.  She called him “Bubby” and her love of Teletubbies was born.  We were NOT glad.  As any parent knows, Teletubbies are not the things you want your children to latch onto, since their “annoyance factor” on a scale of 1-10 is 1000.  However, watching Little Girl 2 LOVE this toy, would melt your heart, and so, as any parent knows, we had a difficult time not indulging her in her Teletubby habit.  By the time all was said and done, Little Girl 2 owned three videos and 9 Teletubbies…the original little Bubby, and two sets of four, one large and one medium sized.  They hold the place of honor at the foot of her bed to this day.

Fast forward five years.  Mr. Baby Boy is born, and we try every lovey imaginable trying to get him to attach to something—anything.  (Okay, I should say anything but a Teletubby.  Zan has said more than once, “No son of mine will have a Teletubby!)  Below is just a small sampling of the sweet little animals that want to be loved, but wind up on the floor next to the crib to sleep alone and cold. 

So last night, since Mr. Baby Boy wouldn’t go to bed on time, he had to join Little Girl 2 and me in her bedroom for storytime.  He starts raising a commotion, pointing and barking like a seal (that’s how he says, “I want that!)  What is he pointing to??  The little red Teletubby!!!!  He took the darn thing, and hugged it and cooed to it throughout storytime, and wouldn’t let it go come bedtime. 

So, despite our protestations, I think we may have found Mr. Baby Boy’s lovey. 

(To Zan:  Sorry, Honey…I couldn’t help it.  He was so cute talking to the little guy!  Even YOU couldn’t have taken it away!)

That thing has magic powers.  And we are doomed to another five years of Teletubby Hell.

(The Suspect.)   

14 responses

  1. That is so funny! Well… more for me than for you 😉
    My 11-year-old never watched teletubbies, she was addicted to the Disney Channel (with their own share of annoying shows). And I’ve trained my almost 5-year-old right, because she will turn off the TV when “Teletuppies” (as she calls them) starts. Makes me so proud!

    April 7, 2008 at 2:11 pm

  2. Could be worse….he could have latched on to…on to…nope, it’s pretty bad.

    April 7, 2008 at 2:22 pm

  3. Ha ha, I just came back to your site… just as my little one walked into the room. She saw the picture of the teletubbie and said “EEWWW, teletuppie?” and got this disgusted look on her face. LOL. Had to reply again and share with you.

    April 7, 2008 at 5:27 pm

  4. Too funny! Atta girl! 🙂
    Actually, there’s good news to report. He hasn’t gone back to “The Suspect” yet today. There’s hope!!!
    Now, the Wiggles addiction is a whole other story! (That’s okay though…I really do love the Wiggles….)

    April 7, 2008 at 6:36 pm

  5. zandic

    Awwwww M@#$@ F@#$@#

    I was looking forward to setting those little bastards on fire.

    Burn Tubby Burn!!! What’s that Tubby you want some Tubby Toast ?? You are Tubby Toast you little M-F’er. Burn !!!

    And now I have to help my son be a real man…..

    HE will have to burn them… Burn Tubby Burn!!

    April 7, 2008 at 11:06 pm

  6. zandic

    No that’s funny.. I don’t care who you are.

    April 7, 2008 at 11:08 pm

  7. Now that’s just SICK!! SICK I TELL YOU!!
    Leave it to you.

    April 8, 2008 at 12:08 am

  8. You guys are killing me. KILLING ME, I say! And I’m not even a Tubby that needs to be burned.

    True story: I was visiting my cousin in California, who has 2 toddlers and a giant play room/family room that is jampacked with toys. I see this odd looking creature with huge eyes on top of a shelf, and say out loud, “Man, that thing creeps me out! How can you stand having it there?” My cousin makes big eyes at me, and I yell, “Stop imitating it! You’ll give me nightmares!”

    Then, a few minutes too late, I realized that she was making eyes at me to tell me to shut up because it was a gift from her mother-in-law, who was sitting on the couch glaring at me.

    April 8, 2008 at 1:55 am

  9. At least it’s not a Chuckie doll, but it is pretty bad.

    Zan, you mildly worry me, but only mildly.

    BURN, TUBBY, BURN!

    April 8, 2008 at 11:59 am

  10. karmardav

    The curse of the tubbies is bad. They were a new thing when my 13-year-old and 10 1/2-year-old were babies. I was a desperate young mother looking for a half hour of peace – I turned on the tubbies, there was peace. Now my girls barely admit to ever watching the evil things and gleefully make fun of them.

    April 9, 2008 at 8:38 pm

  11. 2½ years have passed.
    What about the suspect? was it hugged to death, or was it terminated as tubby-toast?

    November 5, 2010 at 1:47 am

  12. Carsten, this has been the most read post on my blog!
    Too funny…
    Wow, it HAS been two and a half years, hasn’t it?
    Well Teletubby is not toast, but he is completely forgotten by Mister. Little Girl on the other hand, couldn’t part with him, so he is in storage.
    After a time, Mister did eventually love his Puppy and Bear from the top photo, but his lovey of choice varies each night…last night it was a Matchbox car and a superball! :). Zan is very proud. LOL

    November 5, 2010 at 5:14 am

    • A Matchbox car and a ball! Now he is on the right track 🙂
      I’m looking forward to seeing what my granddaughter chooses for favourites.
      I saw the link on your ‘about’ page. The link is not valid, so Google was called for help.

      November 5, 2010 at 6:37 am

  13. My young friend liked In the Night Garden, madly, for months. Everything was Tombliboo. I found bits in it which were bearable- Derek Jacobi’s voice, for example- and then, quite suddenly, she got sick of it and absolutely refused to watch it. Perhaps big sister said something to her.

    January 5, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Leave a Reply

