A Phoenix Burning

The Flower

In A New Earth, Eckhart Tolle discusses the flower.  He says, “Flowers, more fleeting, more ethereal, and more delicate than the plants out of which they emerged, would become like messengers from another realm, like a bridge between the world of physical forms and the formless.  They not only had a scent that was delicate and pleasing to humans, but also brought a fragrance from the realm of spirit.” 

I have often thought that my babies were a window into the Presence (as Tolle calls it.)  I believe that having come fresh from God, they still retained the memory of pureness from where they came.  Which brings me to this. 

When my oldest was just two, she toddled over to a tulip that had just come up in the yard.  She knelt down and smelled it, looked up at her Daddy with the most angelic peace upon her face and said, “It smells like love!”  I was so struck in that moment, never having thought of a flower in those terms before.  My husband and I looked at each other, dumbstruck, knowing that we had witnessed a glimpse of that which cannot be described with mere words.  My baby had taught me, in that moment, to appreciate the beauty of a flower in a new way, a deeper way, and through her, I had a peek into the realm which time makes us forget. 

Reading this book reminded me of that moment, and perhaps validated what I had felt all those years ago.

Leave a Reply

