Tags

, ,

Well, I’m a day late and a dollar short again, but I figured I would post anyway seeing how I actually have something to post for Scott’s latest challenge!  Abstract photography was the topic, and I have said before how I love making abstract images.  Problem is I have trouble seeing the possibilities without my extension tubes attached. But, the past couple of weeks I’ve been stretching my brain a little to see the abstract around me.

The first image is one I took when I brought home paint swatches to formulate a plan for painting my kitchen…here, the many shades of white:

Next, I was able to capture a glorious morning sunrise…by purposely blurring the shot, it took on an abstract quality:

The next photo was the bark of my maple tree.  I thought it looked a bit like alligator skin, and the texture really jumped out in black and white:

This last one was a photo of the same tree taken during the snowstorm on March 1st.  (Hard to believe it was snowing just 3 weeks ago…it is 80 degrees here today!) I “cheated” and messed around with the shot in post to give it an abstract quality:

So there you have it! I think I’ll be playing with this concept of “abstraction” a bit more in the weeks to come.  But I leave you with a photo that is NOT an abstract, but wanted to share with you anyway…my budding lilac bush.  The buds started to swell on Sunday, and have already gotten this far.  So sweet.

